Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 15-08-2016, 20:59   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: 2007 Beneteau 393 Cyclades
Tips for Newbies

Hi Everyone,
As I mentioned in my intro I'm new to the boating world and am here to learn. I'm wondering what tips you seasoned folks have to share with newbies. I'm interested in tips about anything related to boating that you think will be helpful. Things like, "if I had only know such-and-such when I first started boating" type thing. I've already found one thing that has been really helpful. I got Navionics and have discovered the automatic route option. You select a starting location and a destination and it calculates the best route. It even highlights precautions on the route like for shallow water and bridges and other hazardous things. I LOVE it!
Thanks in advance for any help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Route.PNG
Views:	206
Size:	220.5 KB
ID:	129653  

Old 15-08-2016, 21:17   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: Tips for Newbies

Welcome here, and I may have missed it but you have a boat? Sail or power? Where do you want to go?

1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2016, 21:24   #3

Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!

Spend time & money to gain knowledge & experience first, quality gear later, toys much much later.

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2016, 23:28   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Send a message via Skype™ to Jim Cate

Greetings SS, and welcome to CF.