Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2019, 21:05   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
NMEA 2000 - Help Please

So here is the scoop,

NMEA 2000 back bone hooked up. Raymarine auto pilot connected to backbone via adapter T..

Zues9 MFD shows network connected... But says auto pilot computer not connected? I am able to use auto pilot from MFD way ponts...So why no computer message?

Thanks!
__________________

Soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2019, 21:29   #2
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 3,257
re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

I would suspect terminations and sequence of connections. NMEA devices need to be daisy chained off the back bone so this means that the head of the "T" (connector) extends the backbone while the tail of the "T" (connector) goes to one device only as in you cant tee of it to another device along the way. The start and end of the backbone needs to be terminated with a suitable terminator, although the masthead transducer normally includes a terminator internally.
__________________

Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 03:32   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 34,303
Images: 240
re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Soup.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 06:23   #4
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Contessa 32
Posts: 1,444
Images: 2
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

I'm not sure, but I think the Zeus MFD is telling you that there is no Simrad autopilot connected. It does not care about the Raymarine, since it can't control it If you ask the MFD to list all NMEA2k devices, the Raymarine autopilot should be included.


Your Raymarine autopilot receives the NMEA2K waypoints and other data, but the Simrad MFD does not command the Raymarine autopilot.
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 06:28   #5
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,389
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

Agree with Ziggy
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 06:49   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Becalmed in the Med
Boat: Prout Snowgoose 35
Posts: 903
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

The MFD is looking for a B&G,Simrad or Lowrance autopilot. It cannot communicate and control another system. What it can do though is send tracks to the Raymarine unit.

Create a route on the MFD, activate it, then hit Track on the autopilot display. The pilot will then follow the route.

That is about as good an integration you’ll get.
mikedefieslife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 07:57   #7
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,389
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

Note: and you can disable the "no autopilot computer" alarm so you won't have to see it again
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 08:28   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

Soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 08:35   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

THANKs everyone, y'all so helpful, and quick to respond... Guess I'm SOL as Ziggy mentioned... But everything else is working fine... ��

Thanks!!
Soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 09:16   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29° 49.16’ N 82° 25.82’ W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,753
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

Maybe SOL, maybe not.

I have a B&G/Simrad AP and it works quite well with my Garmin plotter. Maybe as others say the B&G plotter doesn't work the other way with other plotters but I would still give it a try.

First, does the Raymarine AP use the old Seatalk or SeatalkNG? Second, what kind of NMEA2000 backbone? Is the backbone based on the B&G equipment and using their standard connectors? You've noticed I guess that Ray uses their own and you need an adapter cable to connect to standard NMEA2000 cables.

If I recall, you need to connect the Ray network to the backbone, not a T then use a Ray T and terminator on that end of the cable. Check the Raymarine support forum and they will have good diagrams on how to do this.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 11:01   #11
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vienna, Austria
Boat: Vagabond 47
Posts: 309
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

SeaTalk NG is very similar to NMEA 2000 BUT IT IS NOT NMEA 2000
Maybe your Raymarine AP can be switched to NMEA 2000 too.
moseriw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 11:19   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29° 49.16’ N 82° 25.82’ W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,753
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by moseriw View Post
SeaTalk NG is very similar to NMEA 2000 BUT IT IS NOT NMEA 2000
Maybe your Raymarine AP can be switched to NMEA 2000 too.
Raymarine tech support when I contacted them was quite certain that SeatalkNG is fully compliant with NMEA2000. The standard as I understand it mandates the communication protocols but does not specify the physical connectors to be used and Raymarine was adamant that they complied with the protocol.

I was able to connect my old Raymarine soeed and depth display to my NMEA2000 network and it works just fine.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 11:28   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Becalmed in the Med
Boat: Prout Snowgoose 35
Posts: 903
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

I don't think any manufacturer allows you to control their autopilots from 3rd party devices. Raymarine Evolution autopilots use proprietary n2k sentences. These have been reverse engineered, but you're not going to get other mainstream manufacturers including them in their software.
mikedefieslife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 11:55   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 213
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

The OP states that the Raymarine AP is not visible on the network as a device. I suspect that the Raymarine Seatalk NG connection may be an issue. Raymarine requires an adapter to interconnect to a "standard" NMEA 2000 backbone and they do not sell one except in certain situations and equipment purchases. My solution was to "splice" a segment of Seatalk NG backbone onto my Garmin Backbone allowing both types of "T" adapters to be used on my system.
I made up one to connect a short Raymarine Seatalk NG backbone segment with a Regular 2000 backbone plug. This allowed the Raymarine NG to connect directly to the other backbone. Raymarine connectors are not the same so a dropcable from say a Garmin or Simrad version of NMEA 2000 wont plug in to the Ray network either.
I think I bought the extra Male or Female connector from Airmar or one from Raymarine and the other from Garmin I don't remember. Strip one back and wire it to the corresponding wire one the other system and plug the two backbones together. Then need a Raymarine "T" for it's dropcable and their Terminator on the NG end.
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 12:16   #15
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29° 49.16’ N 82° 25.82’ W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,753
Re: NMEA 2000 - Help Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikedefieslife View Post
I don't think any manufacturer allows you to control their autopilots from 3rd party devices. Raymarine Evolution autopilots use proprietary n2k sentences. These have been reverse engineered, but you're not going to get other mainstream manufacturers including them in their software.
I can perfectly with my Garmin. I have a Garmin plotter and a Simrad/B&G autopilot. I can set a waypoint on the Garmin and the Simrad AP will steer to that waypoint. I also use the Simrad compass to supply the heading information to the Garmin plotter. All very seamless.
__________________

__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a NMEA 2000 Chart Plotter to a NMEA 0183 Network SailingPNW Marine Electronics 25 21-02-2019 09:57
Troubleshooting NMEA 2000 and the troubles with NMEA 200 Suijin Marine Electronics 43 28-07-2018 06:45
Benefits of NMEA 2000 over 0183 - views please Alita49DS Marine Electronics 6 13-07-2018 11:10
Help troubleshooting my NMEA 2000 network Toubab Marine Electronics 7 25-03-2015 15:03
Help with a complex NMEA 2000 network setup chris5977 Marine Electronics 10 28-02-2015 09:05



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.