Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-08-2011, 18:45   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cal 28 "Happy Days"
Send a message via Yahoo to capngeo Send a message via Skype™ to capngeo
Challenge: Thinking Outside the Medical Box | Seizure, Perhaps Diabetic

For those who don’t know, in my “real” life, I’m a firefighter/paramedic. Been one for almost 25 years now. I just helped a buddy out through a medical problem while he was offshore; he was relaying via SSB through a shore station who was emailing me. The thought occurred that I am lucky in that I have a lot of EMS experience when things go wrong away from help. (Joanne is also a RN). I’m going to throw out a scenario every day or so, and I hope that other medical people will help out. The idea is to better equip a layman sailor for dealing with the medical emergencies by thinking outside the box.

Now for the disclaimer..... I AM NOT A PHYSICIAN, I CANNOT GIVE MEDICAL ADVISE, AND ANYTHING YOU GLEAN FROM THIS THREAD YOU USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

So.. here’s the scenario for today. You are on a 125nm overnight passage in the Windward Islands of the Southern Caribbean. A crewmember is found unconscious, and actively seizing. 40ish female, 75kg. No medical history is known other than perhaps diabetic (she was seen checking her blood glucose level). There is no apparent trauma other than some minor bleeding from the mouth. Her teeth are clenched, it appears she has vomited in her mouth, and she is not breathing. She is convulsing violently for several minutes, with intervening periods of calmness, but never alert, followed by another prolonged seizure. A MAYDAY has been called, but you’re in the 3rd world and help is a long way off.

What do you do? Your med kit aboard is geared towards trauma, and you have little to no medical training, only a small book for resource, no internet, no SAT, just SSB.