Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2019, 08:31   #1

Bahamas in August

Hello! Hoping for gracious sailors out there. It is my first time on a boat with two friends-- a 37 foot Catalina sailboat. Everything is manual and no auto pilot. Tiny motor, but enough to compete with Gulf Stream. We sailed from West Palm Beach to West End. It took about 30hrs. Because they decided going straight wouldn't work. We are now in Freeport, looking for the safest routes to return back to Palm Beach by the 14th. We talked about going down to Bimini and then up to West Palm to catch the Gulf Stream. But that feels like a lot of open water... my two friends push passed their limits and don't realize it. And I am as green as it gets... Is it better to depart from Freeport or West end and then just hug the coast down?

What is the safest, fastest route back to West Palm Beach?
jargenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 18:05   #2

Boat: 47' Olympic Adventure
Re: Bahamas in August

Quote:
Originally Posted by jargenta View Post
Hello! Hoping for gracious sailors out there. It is my first time on a boat with two friends-- a 37 foot Catalina sailboat. Everything is manual and no auto pilot. Tiny motor, but enough to compete with Gulf Stream. We sailed from West Palm Beach to West End. It took about 30hrs. Because they decided going straight wouldn't work. We are now in Freeport, looking for the safest routes to return back to Palm Beach by the 14th. We talked about going down to Bimini and then up to West Palm to catch the Gulf Stream. But that feels like a lot of open water... my two friends push passed their limits and don't realize it. And I am as green as it gets... Is it better to depart from Freeport or West end and then just hug the coast down?

What is the safest, fastest route back to West Palm Beach?