Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-09-2014, 11:35   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Sabre 42
Posts: 206
Images: 1
Wind Transducer - Replacing old Nexus

My older Nexus wind transducer has stopped functioning and I'm looking to replace it with something more user friendly - an instrument with a simple pointer with a wind speed readout. The nexus cable has only 4 conductors (3 wires plus a braid) while most tranducers now seem to have 5 conductors (like Raymarine).

Does anyone know of a wind transducer that could be wired to the existing 4 conductor cable? I'm aware of the wireless Tacktick system and will consider it if I cannot find a wired alternative. I know the Raymarine rotovecta only needs 2 wires but it seems to disappoint most users.

Does anyone know of an alternative or if a standard Raymarine transducer would work without the 5th braided connector being used?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
** Insert clever catchphrase here **
Gary H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 11:59   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Wind transducer - replacing old Nexus

You mean Silva?

Garmin took them over. Talk to Garmin.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 12:32   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Sabre 42
Posts: 206
Images: 1
Re: Wind transducer - replacing old Nexus

It looks like the only Garmin wind transducer available is NMEA2000. I was really hoping to keep things simple using existing wiring.
__________________
** Insert clever catchphrase here **
Gary H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 17:27   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Wind transducer - replacing old Nexus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary H View Post
It looks like the only Garmin wind transducer available is NMEA2000. I was really hoping to keep things simple using existing wiring.
It looks?

Have you asked Garmin or have you guessed?

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/shop...rod505882.html

http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/gWind_Install_ML.pdf

4 cable wire connecting to earlier Nexus (that is Silva Nexus) instruments.

So have you asked Garmin or not?

Because their website clearly states this is still available.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2014, 19:12   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Sabre 42
Posts: 206
Images: 1
Re: Wind transducer - replacing old Nexus

B-

Thanks for the links.

G
__________________
** Insert clever catchphrase here **
Gary H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2014, 06:22   #6
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Wind transducer - replacing old Nexus

Silva Nexus parts are still available

the wind instrument is proprietary to Nexus, you could use a NMEA 0183, and pass that into the Nexus controller.

dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2014, 10:06   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Boat: Sabre 42
Posts: 206
Images: 1
Re: Wind transducer - replacing old Nexus

Thanks Dave. I will explore the 0183 option.
__________________
** Insert clever catchphrase here **
Gary H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2014, 16:11   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,274
Re: Wind Transducer - Replacing old Nexus

We have the wireless Nexus solution, and it works great.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 06:23
Nexus Wind Transducer mikefossl Marine Electronics 0 28-04-2012 07:37
Replacing Airmar transducer spinwing Marine Electronics 0 21-05-2010 20:37
Replacing ST50 Wind Transducer with ST60 Heikki Construction, Maintenance & Refit 1 15-05-2010 13:12
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.