Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2014, 22:29   #46
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Will garmin NMEA2000 GPS work with other brand plotters?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennisail View Post
Jedi is typical wealthy consumer type of person. He has the money and feels the need to replace everything with the best due to perceived obsolescence, and suggests everyone else does the same.



Since my whole system appears to work fine, and I can probably get it all going again for $100. I will not follow the suggesting to throw all that perfectly functional gear away to become waste. Im not into spending $5000+ to replace something that works just because I watch too many advertisements.
Dennis makes assumptions that are wrong Jedi just takes his old gear and sells it on-line for more $$$ than what he paid for the new gear. Fits with me being Dutch etc.
__________________

__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 19:02   #47
cruiser

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane AUS
Boat: Cowther 43 - Hunter 40.5
Posts: 1,006
Re: Will garmin NMEA2000 GPS work with other brand plotters?

If you can get away with that, I am impressed. However I seriously doubt anyone can really get away with that for more than a couple of lucky buys and sells. I think that unless you are mates with the producer, it is not going to be remotely possible to sell broken "antique" gear for more than what new stuff is worth.
__________________

__________________
dennisail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 02:38   #48
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Will garmin NMEA2000 GPS work with other brand plotters?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennisail View Post
If you can get away with that, I am impressed. However I seriously doubt anyone can really get away with that for more than a couple of lucky buys and sells. I think that unless you are mates with the producer, it is not going to be remotely possible to sell broken "antique" gear for more than what new stuff is worth.
You keep making wrong assumptions. Old B&G Hydra2000 components sell for more than what new N2K components cost, regardless of what you think it should be. It was the trigger to make the change for me. A replacement wind instrument would have cost more than $1,200.- and it's just a mechanical thinghy that would be destroyed by birds again. My new N2K wind instrument is ultrasonic so no moving parts, gives barometric pressure, air temperature and humidity as bonus and only cost around $500.

Putting extra money into old, discontinued equipment is just fine as it gives others an option to sell theirs.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:25   #49
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Will garmin NMEA2000 GPS work with other brand plotters?

Jeepers , the OP has the 0183 cable, pick up a cheap 0183 GPS. Away he goes.

Dave


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2014, 07:54   #50
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,432
Re: Will garmin NMEA2000 GPS work with other brand plotters?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
Cut the cables and splice them together. SeatalkNG and N2K use the same color code and are electrically the same.
Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
Just remember the backbone seatalk ng cable contains a seatalk centre pin ( I thinks it's a yellow wire ). The drop cables remove this.

Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
Good point! I was referring to the drop cables.
I'm going to counter this. The Raymarine STng backbone cable is 4 conductor, same color code as NMEA2000, red, black, white, blue, no yellow wire. I've installed NMEA2000 connectors on RM backbone cable.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2014, 17:59   #51
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Will garmin NMEA2000 GPS work with other brand plotters?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
I'm going to counter this. The Raymarine STng backbone cable is 4 conductor, same color code as NMEA2000, red, black, white, blue, no yellow wire. I've installed NMEA2000 connectors on RM backbone cable.

Sorry yes, my bad, it's the drop cables that have the seatalk 5th pin

Dave


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, gps, nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.