Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2019, 10:29   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New England
Boat: lagoon 380 s2
Posts: 688
Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

I have a chartplotter at my nav table. Touchscreen. The way to create a route is to touch it to drop a waypoint, move/scroll to the next place you want the next waypoint, touch again, etc.

If you are zoomed out, the accuracy of the touch is way off (the number of waypoints right on the buoy that i will hit is high;-). If you zoom in, scrolling takes forever, and half the time you drag to scroll with your finger, it misinterprets as you touching for a waypoint. Doh! I find it very cumbersome to do it this way.

It would be so much easier to use a mouse. Why isn't this available, or maybe it is and I don't know about it, or maybe I am the only person who thinks this would be useful?
__________________

jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 20:59   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 48
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Most of the larger chart plotters have USB ports. If you plug a mouse in then it should work. Normally 12" or larger units have this.
__________________

Rusty007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 23:33   #3
Registered User
 
Simi 60's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Australia
Boat: Milkraft 60 ex trawler
Posts: 2,102
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Opencpn
Simi 60 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 23:35   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,674
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Most have optional keypads with joysticks. etc. Ie Garmin grid.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 01:21   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Boat: Island Packet 40
Posts: 2,911
Images: 7
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Probably because they want you to buy some exorbitantly expensive add on or upgrade to a more expensive unit.

I used OpenCPN and a 10" Asus computer with a USB to RS422/485 converter connection to my autopilot for years and it was great to be able to use a mouse with it. The two problems I had were the lack of good digital charts in Australia (The government runs an extortionate subscription digital chart racket in contrast to NZ and our ASEAN neighbors) and having to run up and down to the chart table.

I changed boats and now have a Raymarine chart plotter which does not have NMEA 0183 and won't talk to the Simrad autopilot nor accept wifi transfer of files except with proprietory software and cannot use a mouse. Whilst it's good for seeing where I am and uses Navionics charts which have more inshore detail than the CM93 charts it does not have anywhere near the utility of the OpenCPN/computer arrangement for course planning and autopilot implementation.
RaymondR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 05:59   #6
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 4,075
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbinbi View Post
It would be so much easier to use a mouse. Why isn't this available, or maybe it is and I don't know about it, or maybe I am the only person who thinks this would be useful?

I can add a keyboard and/or mouse to our plotter. Are you sure you can't?

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 06:35   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Victoria BC
Boat: 1980 Hunter 36
Posts: 944
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

On mine I can't use a mouse, but I can do all my planning on my PC on openCPN and then transfer the waypoints etc to my chartplotter and my phone (which is my backup) - are you able to do that?
__________________
S/V Gudgeon
www.gudgeonblog.ca
alctel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 08:37   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 11,307
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger42c View Post
I can add a keyboard and/or mouse to our plotter. Are you sure you can't?



-Chris
Which make/model of plotter is it?
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 08:40   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 11,307
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Quote:
Originally Posted by alctel View Post
On mine I can't use a mouse, but I can do all my planning on my PC on openCPN and then transfer the waypoints etc to my chartplotter and my phone (which is my backup) - are you able to do that?
Ditto. I also often run them in parallel and capture wp's/tracks on OpenCPN, which also has a lot more options for loading different types of charts and working with them.
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 12:08   #10
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 2,319
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

My Furuno MFD8 has a USB port on the back, under a cover. I leave a Logitech "Nano" transceiver plugged in and use a wireless mouse. When entering waypoints, and doing the initial setup, I also use a compatible wireless keyboard. YMMV

Greg
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 13:51   #11
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 4,075
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

Quote:
Originally Posted by belizesailor View Post
Which make/model of plotter is it?
Ours is a Furuno NN3D MFD12. 10 years old...

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 17:39   #12
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 2,319
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

See above.

Also consider replacing the internal hard drive with an SSD. See my thread here: Furuno MFD8/12 - Replace HDD with SSD It won't noticeably improve the speed, but it may save you a bunch of money and time later if the hard drive fails. Yours may have the old 40GB drives, in which case you can double your storage to 80GB if you use an 80GB image, which I can provide. Hard drives do fail with age as the lubricant gets old.

Greg
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 18:20   #13
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 2,319
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

On second thought, be just a little careful with wireless mice. Wired mice will just plug straight into the connector on the back of the MFD12 and work fine. Many wireless mice will do the same, but not all. Some of the higher performance wireless mice need their own drivers which you are not going to be able to add to your MFD. Older and cheaper are most likely to work. As I said above it is useful to have a combo keyboard/mouse wireless setup with a single USB nano-transceiver; the nano size can be installed and then the cover replaced. Ideally you would want to shave a little plastic off of the top so it doesn't press on the cover; otherwise just leave the cover off.

Greg
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 19:59   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New England
Boat: lagoon 380 s2
Posts: 688
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

ZUES 2 12" B&G Chartplotter. There is a USB in the System, but that connects to the fusion stereo.

Don't know if there is something on the backside of the plotter, not easy to get to. Worst manual in the world as well.

Opencpn runs on my laptop, but no good connection to autopilot, don't trust windoes, not into making a linux system or pi box.

Can make routes on opencpn, but while i can easily get nmea data to opencpn from the b&g, can't find an easy way to upload the gpx wirelessly, have to (so far) export to u sd card each way.

A mouse would be very convenient at the chart table to use with the b&g....

Appreciate all the inputs!
jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 23:29   #15
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 2,319
Re: Why no mouse input for commercial chartplotters

There are two USB ports on the bottom (?): you can use one each for keyboard and mouse. See installation manual here: https://ww2.bandg.com/downloads/zeus...nstall-manual/

There was no mention in the Operation Manual; it seems common these days to separate the installation information into a separate manual - a bit confusing.

Greg
__________________

CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chartplotter, commercial

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is there a check valve on the raw water input to watermaker? accomplice Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 0 25-11-2016 20:44
How About Including the Complete Thread Title in the Mouse-Over Preview ? teneicm Forum Tech Support & Site Help 2 16-08-2010 13:22
USB GPS-Mouse sy-Aldebaran OpenCPN 0 28-05-2010 01:00
GPS Mouse, Google Maps bg9208 Navigation 2 05-12-2009 14:30
Mouse that Roared Charlie Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 9 29-04-2007 23:00

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.