Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2016, 12:16   #1
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Harlingen, The Netherlands
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 513
What kind of cable for the wind sensor?

Hi,

a quick question, what kind of cable is suitable to be run from a Raymarine Rotavecta wind sensor to the wind instrument?

Will a shielded computer network cable do or do I need something bigger in section to avoid to much voltage drop?

The sensor has two wires as output.
Cable length ist approx 15m total.

Thanks for a hint,

Franziska
__________________

Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 13:38   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ventura Harbor (OK, most of the time Canoga Park)
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 150
Re: What kind of cable for the wind sensor?

The Rotavecta comes with a 20 meter cable. If you've acquired a unit that's been salvaged from a previous installation, the cable may have been cut, but the stub is most likely the original. Just use the same gauge and type cable, connect with good quality heat shrink crimp connectors, and a layer of heat shrink tube over the finished connections.

You should know that Raymarine recommends the Rotavecta for POWER boats, not for sailing. If you search various sailing forums, you may see why that is. Of course, the Rotavectas are cheaper, especially on the used market, which is another indication of their poor utility for sailing applications. I would point out that IF you want electronic wind data as an input for an autopilot or course computer, you should DEFINITELY get a windvane instead.
__________________

__________________
Brewgyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 15:18   #3
Registered User
 
Franziska's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Harlingen, The Netherlands
Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Posts: 513
Re: What kind of cable for the wind sensor?

Great answer, thanks.

I know about the limitations,but at least as a reefing indicator it will work (cats don't heel and sometimes it helps to get a reminder :-))

Eventually I'll add an nmea vane.

Budget is definitely an issue, unfortunately.

www.ladyrover.jimdo.com
Franziska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 12:37   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ventura Harbor (OK, most of the time Canoga Park)
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 150
Re: What kind of cable for the wind sensor?

Understood, and absolutely for speed they're fine! I have a dock mate who has one, and for that same reason, as he has no AP to send data to.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Brewgyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More than one Cable in a Cable Clam? sully75 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 02-08-2014 20:29
Extend cable for rudder position sensor? myocean Marine Electronics 1 21-08-2013 08:44
New Kind of Wind-Steering System evantica Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 1 25-11-2011 13:55
For Sale: 50' Telephone/Cable TV Combo Cable off-the-grid Classifieds Archive 5 27-10-2009 13:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.