Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-06-2015, 13:09   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 841
Re: VHF/AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstowers View Post
A friend of mine has a Raymarine a98 chartplotter and just bought a B&G V50 which I now get to install for him when it gets here next week. Lucky me, right?

After looking at the V50 manual, it seems to read as if I will need to connect the old NMEA 0183 port in order to get the AIS data to show up on the chartplotter. Only the GPS position is coming from the NMEA2K network, is that correct? I was really hoping all I had to do was plug the radio into the STng network that I put in when I did his chartplotter and be done with it. Can anyone tell me if the AIS data works using only the NMEA2k connection?

Speaking of the NMEA2k connection, will I have any trouble connecting it to STng? Does it come with a compatible connector for Raymarine's version of NMEA2k or will I need to splice one onto the radio's cable?

Thanks for any info.
My experience is that everything that is networked into N2K will share data. My Vesper AIS is networked N2K, and both the chartplotter and the VHF display the data. The GPS is networked, and is displayed on both the VHF and the chartplotter. I am not familiar with the B&G VHF, but if it is N2K capable, I don't know why you would be messing with NMEA0183 wires.

Raymarine's STng connector is not the same as Garmin, Maretron, Lowrance and others standard N2K connector. You can buy a crossover spur cable though. One end will be the white Raymarine connector, and the other a standard N2K. West Marine carries them - just pay attention to whether it is a male or female end. Or you can splice two cables together, or use a field-installed standard N2K end. Just test it with a continuity tester before sealing it all up with heat shrink.
__________________

__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2015, 13:18   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne, FL
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 321
Posts: 16
Re: VHF/AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
I am not familiar with the B&G VHF, but if it is N2K capable, I don't know why you would be messing with NMEA0183 wires
I was looking at the V50 manual and saw this:

Quote:
6-3 AIS baud rate (BAUD RATE)
AIS data can be output to a compatible chart-plotter / MFD or PC via the NMEA port. The NMEA port baud rate can be set to 4800 or 38400. The default setting is 38400. If 4800 is selected, a warning that data may be lost is displayed.
The baud rate is a 0183 thing if I remember correctly, so it sounded a bit like this radio only sent the AIS data out on the 0183 port. It could be that info is for the 0183 port only and isn't important if using the N2K connection, I would just like to know which it is so I can have the extra wiring on hand if I need it (it's a tedious run from the chart plotter to where the radio will be going).
__________________

__________________
bstowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2015, 14:12   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 841
Re: VHF/AIS

It is not straightforward, by reading the manual. But it says "NMEA ports" here (below). So maybe it goes through N2K as well as NMEA0183. I would call and ask them. I've had good luck reaching them and getting technical questions answered. That said though, I have also been told by them that the B&G Zeus2 could log a DSC call to the AIS thru the Icom VHF, and later found that not true. (And I asked specifically before buying the Icom, and have in writing from them that it would work. Now they say there were mistaken, and I should have purchased their radio - and that would work as advertised. Aaaargh. But that is another story!)

"
10-3 Using the AIS receiver
Providing that other vessels with AIS transceivers installed are within radio range of your vessel, you should see their details appear on the AIS plotter screen. These details are also repeated on the NMEA ports for display on a compatible chartplotter / MFD.
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2015, 19:06   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Re: VHF/AIS

We have an RS35 on a Simnet (N2K) network. Our radio provides AIS data to our Simrad MFD without issue, so AIS output is definitely not limited to the 0183 port. As others have said, definitely check the firmware version as the N2K implementation of older versions was quite buggy.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Davidasailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2015, 04:59   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Innisfail, North Queensland, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 380 #241
Posts: 298
Re: VHF/AIS

I have connected a GME AIS transceiver to my STng network. You just need a Raymarine Devicenet to STng cable.

Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Seabreeze, Lagoon 380 #241
Innisfail, North Queensland, Australia ... Cruising the waters of the Great Barrier Reef
www.sea-breeze.com.au
gspeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2015, 08:09   #21
Registered User
 
Just us's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Boat: Young Sun cc 43
Posts: 24
Re: VHF/AIS

I Finally finished all my installations. I have everything connected through the sea talk ng network. I have an external GPS as well as an internal GPS in my a98 chart plotter. The B&G V50 is connected via NMEA 2000 to the sea talk network. The chartplotter is receiving AIS data from the B&G. However the V 50 is still not holding onto the GPS signal. At times it will find both GPSs, receive data from the one activated and work fine. But after a few minutes it loses the GPS and cannot be found again. Sometimes if I turn off and on again it will find the GPS, but much more often than not it is not finding either GPS and is showing them as unknown in the menu options.
Also, on a 4 hour sail yesterday the v 50 lost AIS data 2 times. When I turned off and on again AIS immediately began working both times.
I have the latest software installed on the V 50. Any chance it is a buggy unit? Other ideas?


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Just us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2015, 02:10   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 40
Re: VHF/AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstowers View Post

After looking at the V50 manual, it seems to read as if I will need to connect the old NMEA 0183 port in order to get the AIS data to show up on the chartplotter. Only the GPS position is coming from the NMEA2K network, is that correct?

Thanks for any info.
NMEA2000 will replace all the 0183 connections. GPS and AIS will work over the N2K network.
__________________
Rusty007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 09:29   #23
Registered User
 
Just us's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oxnard, CA
Boat: Young Sun cc 43
Posts: 24
Re: VHF/AIS

In my scenario with a replaced V50 from B&G I have no problem sending AIS data over the seatalk ng network to my raymarine chart plotter. However the V50 was still losing GPS position from both of my GPS antennas. I connected the V50 via NMEA 0183 to my chartplotter (chartplotter send and VHF receive) and the v50 now gets and holds position data (but the chartplotter needs to be on for this). Not ideal, and it should have worked via the seatalk ng network, but it gets the job done.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Just us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2015, 06:41   #24
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 979
Re: VHF/AIS

I can't help but notice that there have been no software updates for the V50.

I'm finding that with today's more complex, software-driven devices, this is an important issue. There are a lot of "quirks" with this device, and a few things I'd consider outright bugs, like seeing your own vessel as a dangerous target that you're always about to collide with.

Like Garmin, it would appear that the B&G developers are all too busy working on the next release, and nobody is assigned to support the installed base.

I'd consider this a huge factor in my next purchase decision.

Even though the manufacturers would like us to invest $2K or more on new gear every year, not all of us can do that. It would be nice to find one that supports their products for at least a little while after the sale.
__________________

__________________
CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, vhf

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VHF units with AIS/GPS or dedicated AIS EmeraldCoastSailor Marine Electronics 4 19-03-2015 18:36
Can AIS Share VHF Antenna with Existing VHF Radio ? cool2848 Marine Electronics 18 24-04-2013 09:56
For Sale: Standard Horizon Matrix AIS+ GX 2150 VHF Radio/AIS Receiver with CMP30 Ram3 Second St westsailwill Classifieds Archive 6 23-04-2013 19:21
Can Normal VHF Pick Up AIS ? MarkJ Marine Electronics 34 08-03-2011 06:53
ais vhf antenna mounting bobsadler Marine Electronics 15 10-07-2008 09:20



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:12.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.