Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-06-2010, 13:54   #1
RDW

Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Usefullness of Second Receiving SSB Antenna

I am new to all. I have an Icim 802 that I am just learning. From my reading and talking, I think that you can attach a second antenna to the receiver. It would function as a alternate or second DSC receiver antenna, allowing the radio to receive DSC messages and/or distress messages while doing other receiving and transmitting functions.
I have also been told that this can be a simple 6-8 foot wire run horizonally in side the hull of my fibergalass boat and soldered to a pl259 conector and then connected to the second antennae connection on the receiver.
Any comments on the correctness of my information?
Any comments on the usefullness of doing this set up?
I await your informed kind reply.
Be nice, I am a learner.
RDW
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2010, 14:52   #2

Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Your information is correct. You don't need a fancy antenna for the DSC receiver in your M802, since all it is doing is receiving. To an extent, the longer it is the better. Try to run the antenna away from potential sources of RF interference, and use insulated wire for corrosion protection and to prevent accidental shorts or grounding the antenna itself.

I still need to do the same thing myself.
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2010, 00:48   #3

Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Metz supply a neat HF whip with optional rail mount.