Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-12-2014, 06:58   #1

Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
USB interface and IC-M710 - HELP!

Hi guys,

I have taken all the required exams to operate the radio, I've gotten my hands on an IC-M710 and an Icom AT140 and I've figured out the best antenna setup for the whole rig. The next step is to figure out a way to have this old beast communicate properly with my laptop. Often times pactor modems are used for this, but these are ridiculously expensive (new ones sell for more than I paid for the boat!), and I've been told left and right that a pactor modem is by no means necessary. Instead I got my hands on a "digikeyer", by the brand Micoham. I'm no expert, but I was told that this works as an interface between the computer and the radio. Like a stand-alone soundcard that translates the signal coming from the radio into something the computerprograms can work with.

Anyway, here's the issue: I was supplied with a cable when I bought the digikeyer, which reads "EL-K3" on the sticker. As you can guess, this is a cable for a K3 radio, massively more complex than my simple M710 (picture of a M710's backside). Needless to say this won't work with the cable I was supplied with. Yet, there doesn't seem to be a ready-made cable for the M710 as it's not the most common radio around. I emailed the guys at Microham and this was their response:

I'm sorry, I have no idea about M710 requirements, our cable sets are designed for amateur radio transceivers, not marine.
Reviewing available manual, seems DB15-IC-8 cable could fit the radio, but can't provide you any guarantee.