Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2010, 08:43   #1
Registered User
 
KatKokomo's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Asia
Boat: Quasar 50, catamaran
Posts: 79
Urgent: Problems with ST6002 Autopilot

When I press the "Auto" key on the pilot, it ignitional engages, then an alarm of "MOT STALL" appears. What does this mean?
I am on my way to Panama and stopped in Jamaica to fix the problem. So far I was not able to get in touch with Raymarine.
Can anybody help?
__________________

__________________
KatKokomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 09:13   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, Wash.
Boat: no longer on my Cabo Rico 38 Sanderling
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via MSN to John A
When I was in Panama, I had some Raymarine autoiolet issues and was able to locate a self employed tech, on the Caribbean side who was able to solve the problem.

That was 10 years ago but maybe SV JEDI can suggest a resource as all sizes of boats transiting the canal have autopiolit issues.
__________________

__________________
John A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 09:49   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
I thought that “MOT STALL” might indicate that the autopilot is unable to turn the rudder, but evidently that would be indicated by “DRIVESTOP”.
Still ...

Raymarine ManualsRaymarine Marine Electronics - Owner's Manuals

ST6000 Manuals

Here ➥ http://www.raymarine.com/SubmittedFi...lot/ST6000.pdf

And ➥ http://www.raymarine.com/SubmittedFi...st6000plus.pdf

Good Luck !
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 09:57   #4
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by KatKokomo View Post
When I press the "Auto" key on the pilot, it ignitional engages, then an alarm of "MOT STALL" appears. What does this mean?
I am on my way to Panama and stopped in Jamaica to fix the problem. So far I was not able to get in touch with Raymarine.
Can anybody help?
MOT STALL will mean motor stalled
My ST 6002 lists slightly different errors, but the first step is to look at the drive quadrant.
Has the rudder position sensor control arm jumped out?
Has something jammed the drive?

I assume you can steer without the autopilot normally?. Some photos of the drive unit and rudder sensor would help as well as the type of drive.
__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 10:30   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, Wash.
Boat: no longer on my Cabo Rico 38 Sanderling
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via MSN to John A
Drivestop on my unit meant that the drive unit could not move the liner drive for some reason.

MOT STALL sounds like the motot is not functioning correctly. Either a circuit is failing or the brushes/motor are at fault.

Whenever I had something fail for an unknowen reason, the first thing I learned to do is say to myself was "Ok, was there anything that I did that may be related to this problem?" Once my autopiolet stopped working because I rearanged the things in the cabnet that I had the autopiolt computer in and a wire became disconnected.
__________________
John A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 11:42   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 774
CHeck the main power going to the controller, then check to see if the small wires behind the cover are all connected. Check the NMEA connections as well.
__________________

Seahunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 19:57   #7
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Well, I wouldn't want to sail from Jamaica to Panama hand steering so I would suggest fixing it in Jamaica. Like others write, do the troubleshooting yourself or find & hire someone (another cruiser or local company) if you can't.

If your drive isn't hydraulic you might have a spare one aboard? They fail often enough to have one so may be just FedEx one in and have the other one repaired later to keep as a spare.

Noelex had some good advise: check the rudder position sensor (mechanically plus wiring). If you turn the wheel by hand with the AP on stand-by, does the rudder position update correctly?
Next is the drive itself: nothing blocking it? power feeds in place (measure with multimeter) etc. If the AP gives voltage but drive doesn't move, detach it from the quadrant and try again. Still not moving means motor burned or gear broken (any sounds when trying it?) etc. So much to try.

We'll be in Shelter Bay/Colon for a bit more but are making ready to leave in a couple of weeks.

cheers,
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 20:08   #8
Registered User
 
tallyhorob's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belleville, MI
Boat: Catalina 27 - Handyman NO# 1229771
Posts: 209
Send a message via MSN to tallyhorob
MOT for sure refers to the motor drive unit of the auto pilot, best I could come up with. Is it possible to disconnect it from the steering to see if it will move with out load on it?

edit: also check, maybe a sensor went bad
the rudder position sensor has passed
beyond the preset rudder limits or rudder end-stops).
Check drive and rudder position sensor.
__________________
tallyhorob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 20:16   #9
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
My autohelm was doing the same thing and
I had the wires to the motor reversed, but connected with the right colour
code as per instructions, when I reversed the wires the motor was able to drive the wheel properly and no more motor stall!!
It is the result of the motor trying to turn the helm but being unable to as helm is fully over already or it is jammed!
Hope this helps?
Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 20:52   #10
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Surfmachine: what you had is one possible cause but it's not what the OP has... at least I don't assume he switched wires while under way ;-)

When the rudder position sensor is dead or loose or whatever, the AP think's it isn't moving the rudder and the same message comes up.

cheers,
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 21:19   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
unbusted67's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Islesboro, ME
Boat: Looking for a new boat
Posts: 2,196
Images: 24
I have had a similar problem in our Raymarine auto pilot, I am not sure if we were getting the same error message but it ended up being that the hydraulic reservoir had a loose fitting on it and was draining out of the bottom. When you brushed your hand all over the reservoir you couldn't feel the leak but sure enough it had drained out all over or lazarette.
__________________
unbusted67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:11   #12
Registered User
 
KatKokomo's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Asia
Boat: Quasar 50, catamaran
Posts: 79
Guys, thank you so much. I think I am moving into the right direction even I do not like what I discover.
I have a Drive Type 2 Hydr. pump and I do not get 12 Volt to the pump. I checked my SPX 30 SmartPilot. I have 13 V coming in but nothing is going out to the Drive motor. All the internal fuses are OK.
The unit was working fine before, but we had 10ft -12ft. following sea when it suddenly stopped working.
__________________
KatKokomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:15   #13
Senior Cruiser
 
unbusted67's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Islesboro, ME
Boat: Looking for a new boat
Posts: 2,196
Images: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by KatKokomo View Post
The unit was working fine before, but we had 10ft -12ft. following sea when it suddenly stopped working.
That must have been fun. Yeah, maybe you just burned out your control head. Let us know if we can do anything to help.
__________________
unbusted67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:50   #14
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by KatKokomo View Post
Guys, thank you so much. I think I am moving into the right direction even I do not like what I discover.
I have a Drive Type 2 Hydr. pump and I do not get 12 Volt to the pump. I checked my SPX 30 SmartPilot. I have 13 V coming in but nothing is going out to the Drive motor. All the internal fuses are OK.
The unit was working fine before, but we had 10ft -12ft. following sea when it suddenly stopped working.
Was the voltage out measured with the drive unit disconected or connected?
Try disconecting the rudder sensor and measuring the resistance when turning the wheel.
__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 11:05   #15
Registered User
 
speciald@ocens.'s Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the boat - Carib, Chesapeake
Boat: 58 Taswell AS
Posts: 1,139
Check the brushes on the motor. They will get coated with carbon and stop working. Undo the large screws on the back side of the motor, pull out the brushes, blow out the motor with compressed air (in a can from a computer supply store), wipe off the brushes and reinstall.
__________________

__________________
speciald@ocens. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thumbs Down to Raymarine Support for ST6002 Wheel Drive sailorboy1 Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 23 12-07-2011 05:53
Urgent - Getting Info to / from Haiti LeeSailor Cruising News & Events 5 15-01-2010 13:22
Autopilot Problems R_C Marine Electronics 2 09-01-2010 17:55
URGENT WARNING - ALL READ GordMay Forum News & Announcements 32 02-05-2008 15:08
URGENT ssullivan General Sailing Forum 2 22-04-2008 12:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.