Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 13:42   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 24
Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

I have a pactor 2 modem and wonder if I need to up grade to a three?
I am planning to go to sea again and wondered if I can still use the pactor 2 modem?
Is there any reason to up grade to a pactor 3 ?
__________________

__________________
pjandart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 13:58   #2
Registered User
 
Artful Dodger's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Boat: 42 Passage CC
Posts: 177
Images: 7
Send a message via Skype™ to Artful Dodger
Re: Up grade pactor 2 to pactor 3 ??

The pactor three is much better and it is only a cost up grade not equipment, we up graded when we left Newfoundland and were able to get all our weather reports and emails, as well the pactor three uses station that are for pactor three only as well using pactor two stations as well pactor three is faster like high speed. The 168 dollars we paid was well worth the investment.
__________________

__________________
The Artful Dodger
Passage 42 Centre Cockpit
Toronto, Canada
Artful Dodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 14:48   #3
Registered User
 
matauwhi's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Boat: Mason 53
Posts: 652
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

G'day, mate. Ditto Artful Dodger's advice....you will like the increased speed for the dollars. All the best. Cheers.
__________________
matauwhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 14:50   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

Yes, there are still quite a few P2 stations around the world, so you will still be able to use your P2 modem if you wish. P3 is faster, but if you are just sending occasional simple emails and downloading gribs or other simple weather data, the extra speed over P2 is not that significant in practice (maybe an extra minute or two connected). P3 is certainly not a "high speed" connection.

If you rely on your modem for extensive communications or larger data files, then P3 is certainly worth the upgrade. Also, there are more stations available for connecting to, so you have more choices when propagation is not favorable or when certain stations are busy with heavy traffic.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 17:46   #5
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

This is not clear to me. Do I send in my Pactor 2 modem to be upgraded or what?
__________________
Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 01:47   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,440
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

P-3 also seems to be more robust in noisy conditions. We thought it made a useful difference, even for simple grib files. After all, they can go 10+ kb with ease.

Cheers,

Jim VK4GFT/N9GFT
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 02:04   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Slovenia, Europe
Boat: Beneteau First 47.7
Posts: 15
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

Hi

I do highly recommend to upgrade to P3 or ven P4! The speed differences are enormous as well as the reception is much better with P3 modem or with P4 modem each being a step further in development.
The drawback of P4 modem for now is that this modem does not support many things sailors do like like APRS or most of the feautures Airmail do have...with a P4 modem you are more or less bounded to exchanging text messages (It works great also to send some small pics too...).

I am using both P3 modem as a modem of choice on my sailboat (for past 5 years) and run a RMS station with P4...

If you are island hoper or are not good technician and sailing only part time buy a sat phone, the rates are low and It might be a better overal buy. Also a 3G internet connections is the way to go with near land ...
If you are a techie and like to scroll the radio buttons by means of being enthusiast then a P3 will offer you a great deal of enjoyment.


Cheers, T.
__________________
s51ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 14:31   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Samson View Post
This is not clear to me. Do I send in my Pactor 2 modem to be upgraded or what?
The code for P3 is alteady in place in your SCS Pactor modem if the firmware is up to date. If I recall correctly it is just a matter of activating it with your registration code after you purchase the P3 license. Go to the SCS website, you should be able to learn the details there.

Chip
__________________
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 14:35   #9
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

Ah ha, thanks!
__________________
Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 16:48   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

I would suggest the Pactor 3 upgrade. There are more P3 stations being added all the time and the number of P2 stations are dwindling. Just as P1 became obsolete, so will P2 so the upgrade will be needed sooner or later. And there's the added benefit of a faster connection. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 17:21   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

Definitely, an upgrade to P3 is a good idea.

However, all upgrades are not equal; it depends on your model and serial number. The older IIe modems require some extra work (and expense).

Suggest you get in touch with Farallon Electronics; they are the experts and the ones who can get it done for you.

Farallon Electronics 415-331-1924 - ...

Bill
WA6CCA
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 17:32   #12
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

Bill, We have a IIe and it was an easy upgrade. Farallon did make it simple for us. They just sent an email with the license code and I think that was it. We do keep the firmware updated. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 17:36   #13
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterwayguy View Post
Bill, We have a IIe and it was an easy upgrade. Farallon did make it simple for us. They just sent an email with the license code and I think that was it. We do keep the firmware updated. Chuck
Yes, Chuck, many can be upgraded that way. However, the older ones (below a certain serial #) need modification. We just sent one of mine in to Farallon for the upgrade.

Here's the straight poop from their website:

Quote
The Electronic Serial Number Module enables older modems (PTC-II and PTC-IIe) to be upgraded with PACTOR III mode firmware.



PLEASE NOTE: this is a hardware modification and requires your modem to be returned to Farallon Electronics .



The $119.00 price is inclusive of the ESN Module (hardware) and labor but does not include the PACTOR III license, which must be purchased separately. Please contact Farallon for clarification if needed.


The PTC-II and many PTC-IIe modems pre-date the Electronic Serial Number system that is embedded in current production PTC modems. Unquote




Bill
WA6CCA
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 05:25   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

If your modem pre-dates the ESN system, you can still get a P3 license tied to your call sign registration without sending the hardware in for modification. They do not advertise this, but we did it.

The problem is that the P3 license is only good for you, and not the hardware. In other words, it is not transferable, so if you sell/give the modem to someone else, it will only be a P2 modem again.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 12:47   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Francisco
Boat: Hylas 46
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to SeaGlub Send a message via Skype™ to SeaGlub
Re: Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ??

How can I find out if my Pactor IIe has already been upgraded?
__________________

__________________
Chris & Monica
s/v SeaGlub - Hylas 46
SeaGlub is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pactor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COPY GALAXY S II UPGRADE TO ANDROID V. 4.03 sinbad7 Navigation 2 23-07-2012 18:05
For Sale: Gyro Upgrade for Raymarine Autopilot Capn Dan Classifieds Archive 4 16-07-2012 05:53
Looking to Upgrade Battery Charger and Add Inverter Luken7 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 28-08-2011 19:55
B & G Upgrade avantgarde Marine Electronics 0 08-07-2011 20:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.