Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2015, 10:18   #76
Registered User
 
capbillh's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Runnemede, NJ
Boat: Jeanneau 409
Posts: 102
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

FlM,
Thanks for the info. I had an AIS receiver in my previous boat and several occasions used it to identify and communicate with incoming bogies in fog.

Bill
__________________

__________________
capbillh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 10:52   #77
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,243
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

No matter how good your fixed system is, and how reliable, I'd still have a backup. A Garmin 78SC with charts loaded, springs to mind, and a supply of AA batteries. Not much cash compared to the cost of the boat, is it?
__________________

__________________
Bristol 31.1, SF Bay.
MarkSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 15:45   #78
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay, California
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 37
Posts: 105
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluer de Mer View Post
...and yes I still see all the AIS targets and detail in the chartplotter...which is particularly useful in the San Francisco area where we get fog and heaving commercial traffic.
Whew. The tech is comming tomorrow to install my B&G system and reading these posts made me question my decision. Happy for you that it has worked out.And relieved for me.
__________________
The Smokester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 16:22   #79
Registered User
 
Fluer de Mer's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Francisco
Boat: O38 & J24
Posts: 164
Images: 2
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

MarkSF...i totally agree. I have one and a portable VHF + batteries in my ditch bag. Last year we were out in our J24 and we lost power, and our fuel line broke at sunset. I purchased both handheld units on a lark just the week prior. Now we never leave the dock without redundancy here. FdM
__________________
Fluer de Mer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 19:23   #80
Registered User
 
capbillh's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Runnemede, NJ
Boat: Jeanneau 409
Posts: 102
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

Davidasailor,
Re. the WiFi, did you plug it into a SIMNET strip or directly into the MFD?
__________________
Bill P.C. TOYC,
K2SDV
S/v Wind Dragon
capbillh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 20:02   #81
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

Quote:
Originally Posted by capbillh View Post
Davidasailor,

Re. the WiFi, did you plug it into a SIMNET strip or directly into the MFD?

I installed it in the pedestal and plugged it directly into the back of our Simrad NSS8 MFD. From what I remember the module came with a short Ethernet cable with Simrad proprietary plugs on the ends for connecting these two. These are different plugs than the Simnet cables running through the rest of the boat so I couldn't tie it in elsewhere. The Wifi-1 is also separately powered, so I spliced into the MFD 12V supply wires to power the wifi-1.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Davidasailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 20:16   #82
Registered User
 
capbillh's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Runnemede, NJ
Boat: Jeanneau 409
Posts: 102
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

Dave ok. there is a conversion cable that has the SIMNET plug on one end and the ethernet fitting on the other end. Thought there is room in the center table under the Zues2 unit. It means taking apart the case around the MFD. It might keep traffic off of the network.
__________________
Bill P.C. TOYC,
K2SDV
S/v Wind Dragon
capbillh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 20:26   #83
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

The way my pedestal console is assembled the easiest thing for me was just to remove the MFD itself and install the Wifi-1 right behind it. The hole for the MSD was enough for me to work in to make the necessary connections and reinstall without having to disassemble the console.

If the Zeus is installed anything like the NSS8, removing it is just a matter of popping off a couple of trim pieces and removing a handful of screws.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Davidasailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 06:11   #84
Registered User
 
capbillh's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Runnemede, NJ
Boat: Jeanneau 409
Posts: 102
Smile Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

Dave, here is the module. If the trim piece comes off easily though I usually use the principal that "if they can assemble it, I can take it apart". I enjoy the challenge.http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...lies/smile.gif

I also have the H50, Sony stereo, XM tuner, remote control for windlass and TV to install in places that "do not add clutter"
4882937_20141216112111976_1_XLARGE.jpg
__________________
Bill P.C. TOYC,
K2SDV
S/v Wind Dragon
capbillh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 14:42   #85
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Pacific
Boat: Stevens 47
Posts: 62
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

Bula from Fiji,

Quick update on our Triton saga. The Triton Pilot Controller error for "No Active Controller" was fixed with the 2.9.00.1 software update to the Triton and the 1.4.01 update for the Triton Pilot Controller.

The occasional "Rudder Response Failure" issue remains. Update on that one on a separate thread.

Max
__________________
Fluenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 17:07   #86
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 703
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

Can you post a URL for the 2.4 controller upgrade? Can't find it online. Thanks.
__________________
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 18:13   #87
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Trouble with Tritons - B&G displays

It is version 1.4.1, not 2.4 - and they do make that particular update VERY difficult to find on their website for some reason: Triton Pilot Software Update

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:12.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.