Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2013, 20:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cajun Country
Boat: Lagoon, 39
Posts: 23
Transmitting NMEA data to shore via wifi

Hello, first post, so here goes...

I'm looking for a solution to transmit NMEA 2K data from Raymarine C125 to a shore side computer via wifi. The boat has a mifi router (wireless Internet connection via cell phone service). Chetco and Maretron offer solutions for this but I was looking for a lower cost one with no annual fees.


Mardi Gras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 03:48   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Boat: Everything that has a sail and more
Posts: 32
Re: Transmitting NMEA data to shore via wifi


There are loads of options making a PtP (point to point) wifi connection. There are also thousands of different things you need to address to get a proper wifi connection to shore.

Will the ship be moving around? Is there L.O.S (line of sight) with the accespoint ashore? How much distance needs to be covered? Do you setup your own shore based AP, or is it to connect to an existing AP?

My personal experience is that wifi connections are a lot less stable then a 3G (mifi) connection. Or at least the need a lot more attention before they work properly. F.I. A ship moving around on a mooring/anchor is quite a hand full to keep a 100% working wifi connection, especially on a longer distance.

-Now when I would connect two points with a static location I would choose 2 NanoStation5's but that would work great when there is no movement. specs

-One static location and one moving would be one NanoStationM5 (or 2 to cover 120 degrees) and one picostationM5 on the moving object. specs

Note that the 5GHz is *only* an option when you have L.O.S. if not 100% L.O.S. make sure you choose the 2.4GHz ( NanoStationM2 PicoStationM2) 5GHz is a lot less crowded then the 2.4GHz, eliminating a lot of noise.

These setups are quite affordable and will get you a high performance wifi connection.
(200$ on hardware I would guestimate.)

Again, if you want to know more you need to supply us with a LOT more information.
jeroenimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 16:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,597
Re: Transmitting NMEA data to shore via wifi

What data? How frequently do you need updates? What range? Does it need to be two-way (requests, hand-shaking) or can the boat simply broadcast the required data?

There are lots of RF solutions besides wifi, depending on your requirements.
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.