Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2013, 20:30   #1
Registered User
 
Nikolina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Boat: Islander 32
Posts: 122
Transducers "I'm so confused"

Okay, about a year an a half ago I purchased a Garmin 740s with the 18 HD radar package from west marine. I hooked up the gps last fall and it works great. I have the boat out of the water now and I'm getting set to install and connect the radar soon. I also want to purchase and install a transducer that will allow me to use the sonar feature of the 740s. When I purchased the package I'm sure I was quoted about 250-300 dollars for a 1kw transducer, not sure what brand. So now when I'm ready to buy one they're 1,000 bucks. Here's the questions to run my depth sounder on my 740s do I need a 1kw transducer? Also were they always this expensive and I just heard wrong so long ago? I fell like Vinny Barbarino in math class "I'm so confused" Any info will help, thanks
__________________

__________________
Its not what I know, but who I know that knows.
Nikolina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 20:37   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,368
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

1 KW (that's kilowatt or 1000 watts) is a really powerful transducer. Do you need range to about half mile deep? If not then a transducer with a lot less power would be much cheaper.
__________________

__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 20:51   #3
Registered User
 
Nikolina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Boat: Islander 32
Posts: 122
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

Thanks skipmac
No I don't. I'm more interested in 0-50' depth (or right before the boat touches bottom). So are you saying I don't need the 1kw, that a 500 or 600 watt transducer will work fine just not give me a reading to the marianis trench? Will the sonar capabilities (if thats what it really is) work okay on the garmin? Or will it just be a depth reading on the screen.
__________________
Its not what I know, but who I know that knows.
Nikolina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 21:04   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 12,368
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

I figured that was the case. I don't really worry too much until I start seeing less than 8 or 10 feet on the screen, but it is nice to read a bit deeper to give you a little more advance warning.

Sorry I can't help you with the sonar bit. The Garmin website shows several transducers as options for the 740s.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 21:43   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Elsewhere on the Water
Posts: 571
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

I think that your unit has 1KW capability, but you do not have to use it. It may be worth reading this and calling them: Garmin GPSMAP 740s Touch Screen GPS/Sounder
__________________
St. Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 21:50   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Boat: 1981 Ta Tong Cape Horn Cutter
Posts: 323
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to gts1544
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

Nikolina, I have always found Garmin's Tech Support people to be more than helpful. What not get it straight from the "horse's mouth"?
__________________
gts1544 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 21:51   #7
Marine Service Provider
 
Emmalina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Thailand
Boat: Herreshoff Caribbean 50
Posts: 482
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

As most transducers are made by Airmar I would consult there website regarding you MFD
http://www.airmartechnology.com/2009...ch-results.asp
Hope this helps
__________________
Steve .. It was the last one that did this !
Emmalina is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 21:58   #8
Registered User
 
Nikolina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Boat: Islander 32
Posts: 122
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

Thanks
Your right I'l get it from the horses mouth. I'll give them a call.
__________________
Its not what I know, but who I know that knows.
Nikolina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 22:01   #9
Registered User
 
Panope's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington State
Boat: Colvin, Saugeen Witch (Aluminum), 34'
Posts: 1,593
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

I also have a Garmin 740s. I use this transducer. It also has temperature sensor. It works great. $149.

Steve

GARMIN Airmar P319 200/50kHz Plastic Thru-hull Transducer (8-pin) at West Marine
Attached Images
 
Panope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 22:12   #10
Registered User
 
Panope's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington State
Boat: Colvin, Saugeen Witch (Aluminum), 34'
Posts: 1,593
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

I just realized that the transducer that I suggested above is for vertical installation only. Not sure if you have the ability to mount vertically. Airmar makes several other models for angled installation.

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013 Feb 079.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	374.7 KB
ID:	56960  
Panope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 22:29   #11
Registered User
 
sww914's Avatar

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Punta De Mita
Boat: Vagabond 39 Hull # 1
Posts: 1,842
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

1000 watts / 12v = 83.3 amps.
That thing must have some huge wires to draw 83 amps!
Mt alternator only puts out 130 amps. You'd need to have the engine running full time to use it unless you had about 2500-3000 watts of solar panels or 6-8 wind generators.
__________________
Steve
http://www.landfallvoyages.com
sww914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 22:43   #12
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Pacific
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 1,443
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

Transducers issue a very short (milliseconds) pulse at that power rating. Airmar says theirs pulse 1% of the time, and listen 99% of the time, so average power usage of a 1000W transducer is around 10W. The transducer includes capacitors to store energy for each pulse, so the load is not that high.

http://www.airmartechnology.com/uplo...s_pc_rA_lr.pdf
__________________
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 23:04   #13
Registered User
 
sww914's Avatar

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Punta De Mita
Boat: Vagabond 39 Hull # 1
Posts: 1,842
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

That sounds a bit more manageable now, doesn't it?
Then there's still the $1000.00 part which doesn't seem like much since you just saved him $10,000 on solar panels and wind generators.
__________________
Steve
http://www.landfallvoyages.com
sww914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 23:33   #14
Registered User
 
Nikolina's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific Northwest
Boat: Islander 32
Posts: 122
Re: Transducers "I'm so confused"

See there's the confusing part, how we went from 83.3 amps to milliseconds to 99% and now I owe someone 10,000 dollars for solar panels that where never installed! Thanks for all the advice I have to wire up a wind generator now!
Panope I saw your boat at Port Townsend last fall looks good! and I'll check into that transducer thats more in my budget.
__________________

__________________
Its not what I know, but who I know that knows.
Nikolina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:26.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.