Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-12-2018, 15:11   #1
Registered User
 
Argyle38's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milford, CT
Boat: Down East Yachts, Downeaster 38
Posts: 156
Transducer not working right in shallows

I have an Airmar B45 depth and temp transducer powered by a Raymarine DSM300 and displayed on a E90W.


Lately whenever the boat is in shallow water, below around 15' or so, the signal seems to go haywire. Below is a picture of what I see from the MFD. Not that the depth is not reading anything. I was probably in around 9'-12' of water at that point.



The problem seems to go away in deeper when both the depth and the graphical fish finding functions seem to work properly.



Has anyone seen behavior like this before?






__________________

__________________
S/V Argyle
Downeaster 38 #40
"Downeast Yachts - More sailing per mile since 1975"
Argyle38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2018, 17:48   #2
Registered User
 
Argyle38's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milford, CT
Boat: Down East Yachts, Downeaster 38
Posts: 156
Re: Transducer not working right in shallows

Gonna bump this one time to get it one more pass through the front page.
__________________

__________________
S/V Argyle
Downeaster 38 #40
"Downeast Yachts - More sailing per mile since 1975"
Argyle38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2018, 19:04   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,159
Re: Transducer not working right in shallows

The behavior you are seeing on the screen is the device "hunting" for a signal it recognizes as the bottom, and not finding it.

Is it possible that you have changed settings somewhere? Gain? or TVG?
billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2018, 16:50   #4
Registered User
 
Argyle38's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milford, CT
Boat: Down East Yachts, Downeaster 38
Posts: 156
Re: Transducer not working right in shallows

Quote:
Originally Posted by billknny View Post
The behavior you are seeing on the screen is the device "hunting" for a signal it recognizes as the bottom, and not finding it.

Is it possible that you have changed settings somewhere? Gain? or TVG?

I didn't change any settings when I first noticed it. I've tried to tweak some settings in trying to mitigate the issue, with inconsistent success.



I have a weak suspicion that I might have too much build up of transducer paint. It seems like that might be something that would cause 'searching' behavior. Not sure though.
__________________
S/V Argyle
Downeaster 38 #40
"Downeast Yachts - More sailing per mile since 1975"
Argyle38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is the right transducer ? scooterx OpenCPN 10 11-03-2017 09:35
Portable fishfinder for slowly navigating shallows Ribbit Marine Electronics 0 18-12-2015 08:49
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 06:23
Cruiseair System Not Working Right! Precious Cargo Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 07-04-2010 19:30
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.