Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-10-2018, 15:07   #1
Registered User
 
powsmias's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey
Boat: Pearson 35 #285
Posts: 377
Transducer/depth a no show

hi all
i have a b&g vulcan 7 with a
simrad b60 transcucer
Boat is on the hard now and when i turn on vulcan there is no signal of any kind from the transducer. looking at screen when i unplug it and plug it back in there is no change of any kind on chartplotter. what would be best way to troubleshoot. if i splash i pay to get lifted out again and trying to avoid expense. is it absolutely necessary to be in water for this to light up? shouldn't i get some response from connecting and reconnecting? unit is hardly used. has worked before haulout. any help appreciated. thnx in advance.
was painted with transducer paint .
__________________

__________________
www.eddiethelock.com
powsmias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2018, 15:57   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,362
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

first of all do not unplug or plug in a transducer with the screen powered on. you will damage things.

2nd it's hard to get a signal on the hard. sometimes you do. it'll just be wrong. (speed through air is different then speed through water)

I assume you are looking at the sonar page? you should get some lines of some sort. but you may not get a depth reading.
__________________

smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2018, 16:13   #3
Registered User
 
powsmias's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey
Boat: Pearson 35 #285
Posts: 377
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
first of all do not unplug or plug in a transducer with the screen powered on. you will damage things.

2nd it's hard to get a signal on the hard. sometimes you do. it'll just be wrong. (speed through air is different then speed through water)

I assume you are looking at the sonar page? you should get some lines of some sort. but you may not get a depth reading.
actually just looking at chart but always seen depth before somewhere on screen. thanx for headsup bout hooking up with power on.
if wrong on the hard though wouldn't i at least see something?
__________________
www.eddiethelock.com
powsmias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2018, 17:13   #4
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 14,038
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

Can't speak to your specific installation, but in all the years I've had boats on the hard, I've never had any reading on depth sounders. I suspect that there is no coupling of the acoustic pulse to air or any coupling of any return pulse (should there actually be one) from air to transducer, and thus no reading.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II lying Port Cygnet recovering from the excesses of the Cygnet Regatta
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2018, 18:39   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Boat: Island Packet 40
Posts: 2,270
Images: 7
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

Jim's right, there's no coupling. Air is good for transmitting sound but once you get above a certain frequency it quits coupling and transmits poorly.
RaymondR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2018, 19:55   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 6,687
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

Are you getting a water temperature reading off the transducer? If so you at least know the unit is being recognized and powered.
__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 04:56   #7
Registered User
 
powsmias's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey
Boat: Pearson 35 #285
Posts: 377
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
Are you getting a water temperature reading off the transducer? If so you at least know the unit is being recognized and powered.
i'm getting no sign of a transducer even connected in any way
__________________
www.eddiethelock.com
powsmias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 08:29   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 6,687
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

Then I'd say you have a problem with the transducer or wiring.
__________________
Paul
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 10:32   #9
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 7,645
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

You want it to read on the hard, Boost it up to radar frequencies. Air and water are entirely two different densities. I'd guess you won't have a problem once in the water.
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 13:58   #10
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: California
Boat: Alerion Express 38 Yawl
Posts: 384
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

On my B&G/Simrad electronics network, the B&G Zeus was able to tell me everything that was on the network, including stuff like the serial number. Very handy for diagnosing the issues.

I had two issues that I could figure out by using this information. One was a bad NMEA 2000 T connector, which had been stressed enough to have an intermittent internal connection. Very hard to "see" this without using the chartplotter's page on the network items.

Second, I had a bad masthead sensor, which sort of shorted-out the network. This required more trial and error of disconnecting N2K items until I isolated the masthead as being the problem.

I have found that if you hook up a transducer and simply hold it to your ear, you can hear a tick-tick-tick sound, indicating that it is transmitting. I've also found that you can put a hard surface parallel to the transducer, and perhaps a foot away, and get a reading (an inaccurate reading, but it "hears" the echo nonetheless.

So, start with the diagnostic page on the Vulcan, then see if you have a bad connector or T in your N2K network.

Cheers,

Chuck
Chuck Hawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 18:45   #11
Registered User
 
powsmias's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jersey
Boat: Pearson 35 #285
Posts: 377
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

thanx for all the replies..all the best
__________________
www.eddiethelock.com
powsmias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2018, 20:15   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,362
Re: Transducer/depth a no show

Quote:
Originally Posted by powsmias View Post
actually just looking at chart but always seen depth before somewhere on screen. thanx for headsup bout hooking up with power on.
if wrong on the hard though wouldn't i at least see something?
on the sonar page. look at the actual picture. getting a depth value is less likely.

assuming the vulcan has a sonar port? I thought the bnG screens did not.
__________________

smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 05:23
Airmar / Furuno Depth Sounder Transducer meridian@ Marine Electronics 9 19-11-2010 06:50
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 03:09
Depth transducer Thermal Marine Electronics 5 13-05-2007 01:30
removing a Depth Sounder Thru Hull Transducer chuck711 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 14 19-02-2007 15:29



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.