Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 07:37   #1
Registered User
 
Benpikeuk's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Transducer compatability-silva and raymarine

Hi all,


So, I'm stuck in Varna, Bulgaria with a Silva depth sounder and speed log. The panel/LCD screen stopped working so now I cannot see the display.

Does anyone know if the raymarine range of depth/ speed panels would be compatible with the Silva transducer already on the hull?

All I know right now is the Silva transducer operates at 185 kHz

The shop here is convinced there is no easy fix for this, and that I shall have to haul out, have transducer fittings replaced with raymarine ones, and replace the whole system completely. Very expensive job. Others say is might be possible to combine the old Silva transducer with a new Raymarine display

Anyone know for sure ??

Please help, I'm stuck until I solve this!

Cheers
__________________

__________________
Benpikeuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:36   #2
Registered User
 
Benpikeuk's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Bumping this up, I need help fast!
__________________

__________________
Benpikeuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:52   #3
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 528
Ray uses Airmar transducers. Check the specs on their website.
__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:53   #4
Registered User
 
Benpikeuk's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Thanks office,


The air transducers are a different fitting, hence my dilemma, I'm trying to find out if I can mix the two.

Does anyone know????
__________________
Benpikeuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 13:14   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Transducer compatability-silva and raymarine

How are u sure the transducer is OK?

And why not a new Silva instrument then, if your transducer is fine?

I never do what shop people tell me to do. I go online, read, calculate, then do my own thing. Most sellers do whatever is best for them. That's not always what's best for you, unless you employ them.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.