Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-12-2015, 18:05   #151
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Cruising the Gulf of Mexico.
Boat: 1980 Morgan 415
Posts: 1,439
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
One other thing: I don't have a fmcw radar to make measurements on, so all I can do is compare actual pulse data with fmcw specs.

It is quite possible that fmcw uses much less power in practice than their specs indicate.

Perhaps someone with one can do similar measurements?

Mark

Away from the boat for a few days playing Santa but will provide 3G realtime loads on my return.


Never use a hundred words when 3 will carry the message.
__________________

__________________
Working on spending my children's inheritance.
Cap Erict3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2015, 19:31   #152
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 6,895
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
I didn't know that about the new mfd's.

My 1A figure was the difference between standby and operation, so there is the magnetron heater to also add in. And I'm going completely by memory.

I think the older thread was started by Dockhead, and was about the 3G radar.

Pretty crappy day today so maybe I'll make some measurements.

Mark
Hi Mark,
I think this is the challenge with reviewing Nav electronics... it is always a moving target as things change so fast

I have been monitoring these discussions for the last 3 years as my refit kept getting delayed and I held off on MFD and new Radar till last minute.

I will be ordering January 4th and here are my thoughts.

1...Sticking with Furuno as world wide service and parts, especially in Asia is great.

2...The cockpit is the primary watch keeping and piloting station, so that is where the MFD TZTouch2-15 will live with the overlays I want and I will have basic stand alone instruments beside, in case it craps out.

3....The Pilothouse will have a PC Display w/ MAXSEA software to feed cockpit MFD or again be Standalone.

The new TZTouch2 has some really interesting wireless features and upgraded software to wireless link with both Android and Apple for remote monitoring.
Also PC configuring to slave to... or control the TZTouch2

This link gets into possibilities and their Forum is committing to more interface... FURUNO NavNet TZtouch2

With Rebate, it can be bought for $3,750

The Furuno Radar Radome options are a bit confusing as they market as DRS4D 24" Radome(4kw) and DRS4DL 19" Radome(4kw), and 19"DRS2 (2kw)

....The new DRS4DL does not need a PSU for TZTouch2
19" RADOME RADAR SENSOR DRS4DL | Marine Radar | Products | FURUNO

...The DRS4 Does!
24" RADOME RADAR SENSOR DRS4D | Marine Radar | Products | FURUNO

Given that with AIS, Radar is now probably more useful for "close quarter discrimination"...unsure if the DRS4 or DRS4DL is the better choice?

Perhaps some of you radar gurus can chime in

BTW...I look at the Furuno International website rather than the US one for better clarity.

Here is my solution for Cockpit and Pilothouse, very open to any comments and advice.

Season's Best!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1 1 SG Furuno Cockpit 001.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	115527   Click image for larger version

Name:	1 1 2016 Furuno Pilothouse.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	115528  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1 1 2016 Furuno Profile Layout .jpg
Views:	68
Size:	367.0 KB
ID:	115529  
__________________

__________________
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2015, 21:22   #153
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 255
Images: 1
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Keep in mind that the DRS4DL does not support ARPA, so if you want that feature then you need either the DRS4D or the DRS2D.
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 01:51   #154
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 6,895
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Thanks....I missed that DRS4D it is
__________________
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 05:46   #155
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Isn't ARPA done in the MFD? Does the radome really do all of that computing and tracking? If so, how? Or radome has no connection to our instrumentation other than the MFD.

If it is done in the MFD, then the distinction seems artificial.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 06:12   #156
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 255
Images: 1
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
Isn't ARPA done in the MFD?
I honestly don't know what's done where. This has been debated a lot re Simrad. There is one guy who seems to have a LOT of inside knowledge who claims it's done in the scanner. But someone else instrumented the ethernet link and saw no traffic other than echo returns when creating targets. So who knows. And with Furuno, who knows even more.
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 08:11   #157
Registered User
 
SailRedemption's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Orleans
Boat: Kaufman 47
Posts: 779
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

The DSR4DL is only wireless for tablet use. It can't be used with the MFD. You either have the 2kw 19" or the 4kw 24" when used with the MFD.

See more @ redemptiverepair.com
__________________
SailRedemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 08:13   #158
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kimberton PA
Boat: Cabo Rico 38 / Bayfield 32
Posts: 573
Images: 1
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

It's a good question, and I have no idea how it's actually architected on anybody's system, but from my perspective it does make sense to do ARPA in the sensor. I believe it takes a fair bit of processing horsepower to acquire and track those targets. Considering that there are many customers who will never even buy a radar sensor, that would be unused CPU HP and memory that only adds to the cost of the MFD. Putting the ARPA processing in the sensor puts that cost on those who will actually use it.
__________________
Saltyhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 08:17   #159
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kimberton PA
Boat: Cabo Rico 38 / Bayfield 32
Posts: 573
Images: 1
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by SailRedemption View Post
The DSR4DL is only wireless for tablet use. It can't be used with the MFD. You either have the 2kw 19" or the 4kw 24" when used with the MFD.

See more @ redemptiverepair.com
See DRSD4L

It is specifically for use with TzTouch and TzTouch2

You are thinking of the DRS4W

It is the wireless sensor for iDevices.
__________________
Saltyhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 10:47   #160
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 6,895
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanglewood View Post
Keep in mind that the DRS4DL does not support ARPA, so if you want that feature then you need either the DRS4D or the DRS2D.
I do want ARPA for the many targets in Asia without AIS...
But where did you find that distinction that DRS4DL does not support ARPA?
__________________
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 11:32   #161
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kimberton PA
Boat: Cabo Rico 38 / Bayfield 32
Posts: 573
Images: 1
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelagic View Post
I do want ARPA for the many targets in Asia without AIS...
But where did you find that distinction that DRS4DL does not support ARPA?
Here in the data on the TzTouch2
Radar | Features | FURUNO NavNet TZtouch2

and in this thread on the Furuno forum: Furuno USA Community • View topic - drs4d vs drs4dl

pages 12 and 13 of the 2015 catalog give a bit more detail of other functions missing from the DRS4DL
http://www.furunousa.com/Learning%20...atalog-WEB.pdf
__________________
Saltyhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 11:36   #162
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 255
Images: 1
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelagic View Post
But where did you find that distinction that DRS4DL does not support ARPA?
It's hard to find. Here is a link to the TZ2 brochure and it lists the radar options in a table a couple of pages in. It shows ARPA support, among other things.

http://www.furunousa.com/ProductDocu...20Brochure.pdf
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 15:26   #163
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 6,895
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Thanks guys.......like Mark I had just ASSumed that the processing of microwave signal for ARPA was done in the MFD......

You really need to read the fine print at this is counterintuitive to me

CF comes thru again!
__________________
Pelagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 22:09   #164
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,751
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pelagic View Post
Thanks guys.......like Mark I had just ASSumed that the processing of microwave signal for ARPA was done in the MFD......

You really need to read the fine print at this is counterintuitive to me

CF comes thru again!
With your rig, you might be able to fit an open array radar. I would check that out if I were you.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-être pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2015, 22:17   #165
Registered User
 
xeon_tsd's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: "Out There" (mailing Austin TX)
Boat: Lafitte 44
Posts: 419
Re: Tired of Bugs in Navico Equipment

and apparently the wind instruments keep dying... up the mast i go... friggen 10 days old. grrr
__________________

__________________
hopefully I will keep this updated.... http://svchapaai.com
xeon_tsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
equipment, men, navico

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10,000 Islands and Bugs... Sumner Sailor Logs & Cruising Plans 10 08-02-2010 08:01
For Sale: Navico Equipment cburger Classifieds Archive 23 02-10-2009 09:50
The bugs are bad courageous cat Meets & Greets 7 30-05-2008 23:11
Brand New/ Old Navico Equipment cburger Marine Electronics 2 14-08-2007 06:18
Updated - removed some bugs Gisle Forum News & Announcements 0 04-03-2003 11:12



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.