Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2016, 19:05   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

I have a Raymarine SX-5 autopilot computer with a ST6001 control head. Had everything working fine until some broader electrical problems on the boat. Turned out to be some bad house batteries. Replaced batteries and got everything working but now have a "No Pilot" message on the control head of the autopilot.

I've tried checking the wiring, restarting, and whatever I can think of but I can't seem to get it working again.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
sailingdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 19:40   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,775
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

Is there power to the course computer?


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 21:06   #3
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 992
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

Its telling you what is wrong - the head unit cant see the course computer, so check power to both devices - AND internal fuses on the course computer, if that is all OK, then the cable between the two is suspect, or either of the two devices is faulty....

Good Luck!
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 03:50   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

Thanks. Power for the control head is coming from the course computer through the sea talk cable so power must not be the problem.

I suppose that there could be a problem with the yellow wire in the Seatalk cable.

Any way to determine if problem is controller or computer?


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
sailingdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 04:48   #5
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 992
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

Sorry, don't have a circuit diagram for that handy, but check for internal fuses in the course computer first, then check continuity of the cables pin by pin...


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2016, 09:46   #6
Registered User
 
aucoingc's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Boat: Jeanneau 2012 509, 50.5 ft
Posts: 26
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

Here is a suggestion: unplug and check continuity on each and every nmea connection until you find the one that is shutting down the entire SeaTallk system. Once it is isolated and taken out of e system, Auto-Pilot will come back on. Don't touch the backbone "Blue Line" connections. For my boat, it was an AIS Tranceiver.
__________________
George Aucoin
Isosceles, a Jeanneau 509
Currently on the hard in Kinsale, Ireland
aucoingc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 16:11   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

No luck yet. Only connections to course computer is compass, ST6002, motor, and power.

Power seems fine. Seatalk cable also seems good. Voltage on the yellow connector is ~11.5 V. All fuses check ok.

Still no luck. Trying to figure out whether it is the ST6002 or the computer.

Any final thoughts?


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
sailingdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 17:15   #8
Registered User
 
aucoingc's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Boat: Jeanneau 2012 509, 50.5 ft
Posts: 26
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

Disconnect blue backbone line to see if you can shut down "no pilot" light. Reconnect. Check fuses in SX-5. Completely disconnect compass. Reconnect. Completely disconnect motor tie in. Reconnect. Check(again probably) the connections to the GPS head. Disconnect. Reconnect. Of course, every time you disconnect...go look at your chart!
__________________
George Aucoin
Isosceles, a Jeanneau 509
Currently on the hard in Kinsale, Ireland
aucoingc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 21:39   #9
Registered User
 
aucoingc's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Boat: Jeanneau 2012 509, 50.5 ft
Posts: 26
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

How did it go Sailingdoc? Get it sorted?
__________________
George Aucoin
Isosceles, a Jeanneau 509
Currently on the hard in Kinsale, Ireland
aucoingc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2016, 23:42   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 11
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

Not sorted out yet. I don't see a blue backbone line for this model system.

Cable seems ok. Have tried disconnecting and reconnecting. Trying to figure out if control head or computer need to be replaced.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
sailingdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 04:50   #11
Registered User
 
aucoingc's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ireland
Boat: Jeanneau 2012 509, 50.5 ft
Posts: 26
Re: SX-5 Autopilot "No Pilot" error help

One of those lines is carrying the signal "no pilot" to your chart plotter. Whatever line that is functions as the backbone line to the system. Other input lines carrying the signal from a device can freeze the whole system. If you can't isolate a bad device then I concur it is likely the SX-5 computer. Should be fairly simple to pull and send to Raymarine to analyze.
__________________

__________________
George Aucoin
Isosceles, a Jeanneau 509
Currently on the hard in Kinsale, Ireland
aucoingc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiller pilot/wheel pilot/ wind steering help sharkwatcher Marine Electronics 2 06-08-2016 13:03
Cloning M710 "Cloning error" mikereed100 Marine Electronics 0 03-07-2016 07:57
"No Pilot"Error on ST6002 Autopilot yynhymr Marine Electronics 13 27-03-2016 22:30
Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error Jon Constantine Marine Electronics 22 29-05-2015 05:21
Icom 710 RT "Error" Daybreak Marine Electronics 2 27-12-2014 17:58



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.