Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2006, 08:45   #1

Stereos onboard

Hey my name is Kailani and I am new to the sailing world. My husband just bought a Beneteu and he looking to accesorize it...he's got alot of stuff already but not a stereo so i am looking to buy him one for christmas. Any advice on which brands are good or worth it to actually pay those outrageous prices? Thanks!
Kailani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2006, 08:55   #2

car stereo

No need to buy a "marine" unit, especially, if like most, it'll be mounted below deck.

A car stereo will work just fine.

randy
rtbates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2006, 09:10   #3

Boat: Privilege 37
yes a car stereo will work fine,

but get a radio that will play mp3 tracks, and preferably one that has a front point to connect in an ipod.

even better, get one that has a remote control.

I have the uk equivalent of http://sm.crutchfield.com/S-6Z77FLhx...300&I=158GT310 and drive through 4x6" JBLspeakers. 6x9 would be better but I dont have the space. with a beneteau, you reallly need to have marine speakers for at least two of them.

most people just use a normal car aerial dangling vertically behind the bunk cushions
Old 21-11-2006, 11:20   #4
cruiser

Oh boy... I might take some heat for this one.

I would actually suggest buying a different item for him. Stereos are something us guy are so very particular about. Not only will you have to see if you want a 12VDC car/boat stereo vs a regular home stereo - you will also want to consider what speakers you are powering, everything Talbot said above, what Randy said, and a host of things like what features your husband wants.

Maybe there is a less complicated item still on the list that you could buy?
ssullivan is offline   Reply With Quote