Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2013, 15:09   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: Standard Horizon GX2150 or 2010

on the 2150 if you put your pos. in manually (all dsc radios can do this) it will show you ais targets. I have tested this. works at anchor. not very helpful while moving.

get a serial gps ant and hook it up to the radio, and get an mmsi number. so the dsc works as well as the ais.
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 16:26   #17
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Standard Horizon GX2150 or 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v 'Faith' View Post
Fwiw,

(...) I did not get an AIS target display... (...)
But at the same time your unit might have output AIS data via its nmea port.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 17:59   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: Standard Horizon GX2150 or 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
But at the same time your unit might have output AIS data via its nmea port.

b.

yes but that device would need gps to show them as well.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 06:03   #19
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Standard Horizon GX2150 or 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
yes but that device would need gps to show them as well.
Depends on how they are shown. Data can be presented in a table, e.g. and this would not require gps input.

Also, AIS mobiles can be shown in a relative plot, ex. the receiving station.

Etc.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 06:47   #20
Registered User
 
Tynesider's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northumberland UK
Boat: Colvic Watson
Posts: 94
Images: 12
Re: Standard Horizon GX2150 or 2010

I have a SH GX 2100E linked to my SH 300i plotter and it does all I ask of it.

The GX2100e does show targets as it can be set to various ranges, I keep mine on 10 miles, I mainly use it as a back up but the diplay on the plotter is excellant with many nice additional setting all of which can be personalised.

One big advantage of the GX 2100E is that you can just plug it into your existing VHF aerial (usualy ontop of the mast) and reception is excellant.

I was also surprised at the quality and reception of the 300i plotter as this is the first plotter I have had without it's own inbuilt aerial but again I cannot fault it.

Mike
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Don't spill your coffee!.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	281.4 KB
ID:	70227   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4570a.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	143.4 KB
ID:	70228  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN4571a.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	70229  
__________________
Mike

Archivist for the Colvic Watson Owners Group
Tynesider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 06:49   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: RI
Boat: Tartan 3800
Posts: 122
Re: Standard Horizon GX2150 or 2010

Can you really see targets on that little VHF screen? I also was considering the 2150. Will it show on a chart plotter screen? Does it have to be mounted topside or will it work below with just the VHF antenna?
__________________
bmm32005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:01   #22
Registered User
 
Tynesider's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northumberland UK
Boat: Colvic Watson
Posts: 94
Images: 12
Re: Standard Horizon GX2150 or 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmm32005 View Post
Can you really see targets on that little VHF screen? I also was considering the 2150. Will it show on a chart plotter screen? Does it have to be mounted topside or will it work below with just the VHF antenna?
You can quickly bring up the AIS target list both on the Radio and the plotter.

Targets on the plotter show up clearly and if you just click on the target you will get all the info you need Vessel name, course, speed etc.

As you can see I have the plotter mounted in the wheelhouse but I would think it will work just as good inside down in the saloon, if in doubt go for the aerial version, but it's more expensive.

However don't forget you AIS reception is coming from your VHF aerial which as said is probably ontop of your main mast.
__________________
Mike

Archivist for the Colvic Watson Owners Group
Tynesider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:11   #23
Registered User
 
WindLove's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wherever Sarah takes me but based in VA/Chesapeake
Boat: Bavaria 36
Posts: 69
I think it's better to have a separate antennae for the 2150 if you have two radios. An isolated AIS only antennae helps avoid problems, and in the big scheme of things it's not much of a big deal....
__________________

__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there..
WindLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.