Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-08-2014, 20:35   #1
Registered User
Jenna1's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal, Canada
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 9
Standard Horizon CP180i Chartplotter

I'm having some trouble with my Standard Horizon CP180i chart plotter. Last week I was cruising around the 1000 Islands Ontario Canada and my chart plotter lost the data it was using to put the chart on the plotter. For a while all that I had was the time, lat/long coordinates, SOG. I cleared the ram memory from the chart plotter and the chart came back. What seemed to have disappeared for good was my NMEA feed to my autopilot. I tried to see if the wire from the chart plotter had disengaged from the autopilot but all looks good. I then tried to run a few self tests from the chart plotter screen and when I've tried to test the C-Card the chart plotter freezes and won't do anything until the power is turned off at the source.
I'm trying to find out if anyone out there has had similar problems and what they did to resolve it. I'm also sending this to the tech department of Standard Horizon to see what they can offer as a solution. Keep you posted.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0012.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	369.4 KB
ID:	87165  
Jenna1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2014, 21:44   #2
Senior Cruiser
River Cruiser's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 758
Re: Standard Horizon CP180i Chartplotter

SH has the best customer support of any supplier I've dealt with I'am sure they'll do all they can to help you solve the problem. I had a problem on my cp300i it stopped showing AIS targets after working fine for several months. I checked, double and triple checked the wiring to no avail. Called SH customer support and the tech had me go into the menu and check the port settings. That was the problem but I have no idea how it got changed that's why I never checked it after the problem started.

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Standard Horizon Knotmeter Rodz Marine Electronics 6 30-11-2009 19:57
Installation Location of Standard Horizon GPS Ed Steele Marine Electronics 12 16-07-2007 07:31
Standard horizon CP1000c condensation problem stephane Marine Electronics 3 28-03-2007 03:16
Standard Horizon 2007 Catalog (text only) Radio University Marine Electronics 0 11-02-2007 19:30
Standard Horizon equipment seafarer23 Marine Electronics 9 25-07-2006 17:53

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.