Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-09-2016, 18:33   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Boat: Beneteau 323
Posts: 60
ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

I have a defective ST40 wind display but as I do research I am concerned that if I replace the display I won't be happy with the accuracy of the rotavecta transducer. My thought would be that if the ST60 or I60 displays work with the rotavecta I would buy one of them instead of an i40 display so I would just need to buy the better transducer with the wind vane later if I'm not happy.

This is a new boat to me and I have no experience with the rotavecta since it was broken when I bought it. We have a bimini, dodger, and link so I will likely use the wind instrument a ton (as I have in the past) rather than trying to see the windex.

Will the ST60 or i60 work with the rotavecta? If I don't like the results will I be able to just replace the transducer later?

Dan
__________________

__________________
Never attribute to malice what can be explained away by stupidity.
danstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2016, 18:44   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 15,382
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

No.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2016, 10:14   #3
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 410
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

Yes. Did it on my boat. Much larger display


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2016, 10:18   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Boat: Beneteau 323
Posts: 60
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
No.

b.
Thanks for the answer B, but are you sure? I have looked some more since I asked the question and on youtube I see a video of an unboxing of a ST60 bundled in a box with a rotavecta.

Are you saying no to the second part of later upgrading the mast head transducer with the ST60, or that it wouldn't plug into my seatalk network?
Given the price I don't want to buy incompatible stuff but it sure is hard to figure out what will work with what!

Dan
__________________
Never attribute to malice what can be explained away by stupidity.
danstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2016, 10:22   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Boat: Beneteau 323
Posts: 60
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOffice View Post
Yes. Did it on my boat. Much larger display


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Thanks for the answer, so you replaced an ST40 with a ST60? Did you plug it into a seatalk network? Did you have a rotavecta transducer without the wind vane on it?

Thanks again,

Dan
__________________
Never attribute to malice what can be explained away by stupidity.
danstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2016, 10:36   #6
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 410
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

Mine is on Seatalk connected with the Rotovecta wind vane. Only problem is you need to enlarge the mounting hole.
__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2016, 14:06   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 15,382
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

Quote:
Originally Posted by danstanford View Post
Thanks for the answer B, but are you sure? I have looked some more since I asked the question and on youtube I see a video of an unboxing of a ST60 bundled in a box with a rotavecta.

Are you saying no to the second part of later upgrading the mast head transducer with the ST60, or that it wouldn't plug into my seatalk network?
Given the price I don't want to buy incompatible stuff but it sure is hard to figure out what will work with what!

Dan
Dan,

As you can read others did better.

Maybe my rotavecta was faulty while I actually assumed it was an instrument, not sensor, fault.

We went thru all Raymarine advice and the sensor was found OK. We connected it then to an ST60 instrument and it DID NOT WORK.

It was maybe a year ago but all the components were old second hand stuff, maybe 20 years old or so.

Hence I jumped to the conclusion they are not compatible.

As others pointed out my conclusion was errrrr ... 'jumped'.

Apologies. No ill will meant.

BTW I am glad they do as I may build now an ST40 instrument /ST 60 sensor combo. I prefer ST40 wind screen.

Regards,
barnakiel
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2016, 06:00   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Boat: Beneteau 323
Posts: 60
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

Thanks Everybody for the feedback. Raymarine folks suggested the safest route was buying whole new system so I ordered another ST40 display and will use it a while before deciding to upgrade.

Dan
__________________
Never attribute to malice what can be explained away by stupidity.
danstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2016, 08:26   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK/France
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 155
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

I've just fitted an i60 wind instrument with a Raymarine wind sensor, but it also has separate connections for Rotavecta. I assume you can just plug in and go.
__________________
hoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 10:46   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Nosy Be, Madagascar
Boat: Wharram Cat 12m Pahi schooner
Posts: 5
Re: ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head?

I had a Raymarine ST40 with Rotavecta vane - It never worked properly, even with bright people trying to setup. Speed and direction, especially direction were never true. Why Raymarine ever bothered to make garbage I will not know - I should have spent a lot extra to go the ST60 vane and cup way. O after 2 years it stopped working alltogether.
I also have a wheel pilot that stopped working after 3 years - the SMD choke on the fluxgate compass is faulty. It costs a fortune for a replacement board
My yacht only has 12vdc fed by solar pannels - never had lightning come near it.
Raymarine doesn't feature well in my books
__________________

__________________
Lovako is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
head, mast, rot

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine i60 wind display ... ggrrrrrr..... bil56 Marine Electronics 2 30-04-2016 15:37
Replacing Autohelm with Raymarine i60/i50 Svalan Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 01-02-2016 11:29
Will Ray i60 wind display talk to older ST50? Jon Hacking Marine Electronics 11 20-01-2016 15:58
For Sale: RAymarine i60 Instruments displays only SilentOption Classifieds Archive 7 19-08-2015 17:51
Raymarine i60 or i70 Apparent Wind Question ZDog Marine Electronics 4 20-02-2015 11:41


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.