Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 29-10-2013, 20:24   #1

Boat: Seafarer 34 CB
SSB HELP

I am a total noob to SSB and HF Radio. I recently bought an ICOM 718 SSB and am figuring out the best way to set things up. I have KISS for grounding. and a rope antenna. What I am having a hard time with is the tuner.

I was going to buy a basic automatic tuner (an LDG 100 or similar) but a friend recently gave me a MAXCOM automatic "Antenna Matcher" and said it is all I need. This has no independent power source, just a ground post, antenna post and hook up to the radio. I googled antenna matchers and they are much less expensive than tuners... but I can tell the difference...

Can anyone tell me what the difference is? He said this worked for years with no problem talking or receiving without a tuner. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Old 29-10-2013, 21:01   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: SSB HELP

The quick Google searching I just did indicates that the MAXCOM is essentially a transformer and a resistor. The resistor acts as kind of a "dummy load" or resistive matching network.

This is an extremely bad design. It provides a "match" by throwing away probably half of the power you are trying to transmit. Your radio might be happy, thinking it is connected to a properly-matched antenna, but your transmitted and received signal will be much weaker than they could be. You will probably be able to make radio contacts with it, but you would do much better with a real tuner.

I would call it snake-oil. There's a reason that true antenna tuners are designed as they are. Get a real tuner.

Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2013, 21:21   #3

Boat: Catalina

The Maxcom was a joke in the ham radio circles for quite some time.