Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-09-2014, 18:13   #1

Boat: 41' Tartan TOCK
SSB Antenna Length

Hi,
I'm very new to the SSB world but I'm learning a lot from all the threads. However, sometimes too much information becomes overwhelming without some hands on experience so I'd like to get the system up and running and experiment if needed.

Some background:
My mizzen to 25' 6" tall and the backstay is about 31' 6" long. I'd like to use the mizzen mast if possible as it offers the most unobstructed setup.
I want to use the SSB for weather, nets and emergency communications.
I have a Icom-M700PRO, Icom automatic antenna tuner, Practor modem and KISS
I've come to the conclusion that I'd like to use a rope antenna. It seems the easiest and most cost effective. I like the idea of the plastic coated SS lifeline going through a braided line.
The two options I have come up with for hoisting it are:
1. Hoist it with a halliard (we have an extra one on our mizzen we currently don't use). This would be amidship and is as far from other rigging as is possible.
2. Using standoff blocks and running it up the backstay. From what I've read this is not the best idea as some of the power will transfer to the backstay. But I've read conflicting posts about that. The reason I'd consider this is because it is the cleanest option.

Questions:
1. Will a 30' antenna work for the applications I would like to use it for? If this isn't long enough, what is the minimum length people would suggest using?

2. Is running the antenna up the backstay a bad idea? If so, why?

3. Will crimping the GTO-15 to the SS lifeline be sufficient for connecting the two?

Thank you for your input!
Jonah
jonahmulski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2014, 13:36   #2

Boat: Catalina 470
Re: SSB Antenna Length