Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2018, 06:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Boat: Delphia 37
Posts: 181
Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

Any suggestions on where to start troubleshooting appreciated - ever since launch this year by speed instrument has been measuring almost exactly 1/2 speed. Will say 0 knots up until actual boat speed of 3 knots and then it will measure 1/2 speed rest of the way - e.g 3.2 when the boat is going 6.4 per gps and my typical engine crushing speed.

Bottom was painted before launch by the yard, unsure if paint got sloped on the transducer or of the lift straps messed up the transducer. Airmar 20-399-01 model transducer with Raymarine St60+ display. Iíve not yet dived the boat, itís in Lake Superior and the water if finally about as warm as itís going to get. Before I freeze I figured Iíd ask on the forums.
__________________

marty9876 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 07:11   #2
Registered User
 
Unity's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Narragansett Bay, RI
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 523 (2005)
Posts: 117
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

You should be able to remove that from the inside. Most ST60+ have a flapper that will seal up as soon as the speed is removed and you should have a plug (by raymarine) that you can then put in to stop the trickle. But even if it doesnít have the flapper, or it doesnít work, you have plenty of time. The column of water is impressive, but you can just put your have over it while you prepare to insert the plug. Worst case is have a wooden plug and a friend to hold it in place while you inspect the paddle wheel. Donít hammer in the plug or you risk breaking the plastic column.
__________________

Unity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 07:23   #3
Registered User
 
Suijin's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Annapolis MD; currently in Luperon DR
Boat: Valiant 40
Posts: 4,465
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

I generally only put my transducer in when the boat is going to be moving.

As unity mentions you should have a blank plug for the transducer somewhere. If not you can buy a replacement part. It will be important to have in further and will allow you to pull the transducer and examine it and clean it at your leisure.
__________________
"Having a yacht is reason for being more cheerful than most." -Kurt Vonnegut
Suijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 08:01   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SF Bay Area (Boat in La Paz)
Boat: Valiant V40
Posts: 578
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

There is a calibration setting that can be set.
jamhass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 10:34   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK, Croatia
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Athena 11.6m Rapa Nui II
Posts: 530
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

Could be fouled given that it does not read at low speeds. Or one of the magnets on the wheel has dropped off
Rapanui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 10:59   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Boat: Delphia 37
Posts: 181
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

Thanks for the info, popped it out and it’s missing a paddle/magnet

If thinking it’s a good idea to pull that transducer before hauling the boat in the future.
marty9876 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 12:25   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cruising, now in USVIs
Boat: Taswell 43
Posts: 524
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

We mistakenly left our ST60+ speed sensor in the boat when we hauled out 2 yrs ago...and the sling deformed the edges and broke a paddle off. Had the same problem as you, even after I made a new paddle and epoxied it in place. Ended up buying a new paddlewheel and installing it.....it's worked perfectly ever since. EZ fix.
sailcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 13:24   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 738
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

Hmm... rushing off now to pull my paddlewheel.


Wait. That didn't sound right...
toddster8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 04:55   #9
Registered User
 
jeff356's Avatar

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Middle River, MD
Boat: Hunter 356 35'6"
Posts: 10
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

Pull mine if leaving the boat for more than a few days. Mine is unpainted and make sure it is clean and rotating freely. Even so lately I was always showing 1-3 knots slower than SOG on the chart plotter until I cleaned the bottom with a brush on a stick, removing some built up slime and growth. Needs clean water flow to give accurate readings. Now I can tell tidal effect and can use it once again
jeff356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 15:01   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Beneteau 411
Posts: 2
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

My boat is also in Lake Superior. The advice you've been given about pulling the sensor while in the water is okay. The boat won't sink. I will state that every autumn at haul-out I remove the sensor while in the water because it is definitely in the way of the lift strap. I can also state that there is a calibration process that you should be able to find the in the Raymarine documentation. Sadly it is a process I'm just not interested in doing as I've found my GPS SOG to be pretty darn accurate. My question is: why does not the Raymarine C80 use SOG in the calculation for True Wind Speed?
Jimpitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 16:09   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

We have the same ST60 paddle wheel and only recently discovered that it is easy to remove and clean from inside the boat.
After years of unreliable through water speed it now works perfectly BUT it has changed itself to read in Kmh instead of knots. I have tried all the calibration techniques in the book but the damn thing won't show anything but Kmh.
Any ideas?
KeithB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 05:31   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Minneapolis
Boat: Beneteau 411
Posts: 2
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

Keith - Do you have a tri-data instrument? Or maybe a Raymarine multi-function display like a C80? From my experience I believe you can set speed through the water to "knots" in either location. Also there is a "multiplier factor" that you can apply when calibrating the speed through the water sensor (paddle wheel). The calibration requires motoring over a known distance (like a mile) at a set speed and noting the time, then repeating in the opposite direction. Tedious and difficult to come up with the "known distance". GPS helps. The calibration is managed using the tri-data. I have had difficulty getting the multiplier factor to hold static in the system when turning it off and back on.
Jimpitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2018, 07:20   #13
Moderator
 
carstenb's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2012
Location: At sea in the pacific
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3
Posts: 5,087
Images: 1
Re: Speed measuring half - Raymarine ST60+

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithB View Post
We have the same ST60 paddle wheel and only recently discovered that it is easy to remove and clean from inside the boat.
After years of unreliable through water speed it now works perfectly BUT it has changed itself to read in Kmh instead of knots. I have tried all the calibration techniques in the book but the damn thing won't show anything but Kmh.
Any ideas?
I believe the sequence is

depress and hold "disp" and "speed" at the same time for 3 sec. then use the "speed" button to go through the men. At some point the KMH will start flashing, now push the trip button a couple of times and it will flash through miles, kmh and knots

push "speed" and "disp" for 3 secs to exit

I might have the sequence a little screwed up (writing it from memory) but you raymarine documentation will tell you how or else you will need to google it
__________________

__________________
I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by

www.svcapri.com
carstenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: Raymarine ST60+ Suncover; and ST60+ Wind antoha Classifieds Archive 7 04-10-2015 18:46
For Sale: Sun Covers to Suit Raymarine ST60 or ST60+ Series Instruments RJV Classifieds Archive 1 17-07-2012 23:16



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.