Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-09-2014, 10:37   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ventura, CA
Boat: Horstman Tristar 38
Posts: 200
Some help connecting up simrad gear

So, I bought basically one of everything that simrad makes and now i'm trying to get it all connected together. I've run into a couple of stumbing blocks that I can't figure out.

I am trying to tie in my wind instruments and depth (IS20 Combi package), etc. to both the provided displays and my Chartplotter (NSS 9 Evo2). The chart plotter is connected to the Autopilot and everything else via NMEA 2000 the instrument package and displays I have have all these simnet connectors and joiners. Currently I have the wind, depth, speed sensors connected into the simnet 3 port joiner (yellow colored ports), on cable is then connected into the IS20 Combi display, another cable then connects from the IS20 Combi into the IS20 wind instrument display, I then have a Simnet to NMEA 2000 cable which oddly connects into the port labeled "OUT" on the NMEA 2000 network in place of a terminator.

Does that sound correct? I cannot confirm this via the manuals or any documentation anywhere, all I see is that with NMEA 2000 you are supposed to connect each device directly into the NMEA 2000 network of course I don't have all the cables to do that.


Second question I have is with the Radar and the GoFree wifi both use the "Ethernet" port on the back of the NSS9 display. Since the GoFree has two Network/Ethernet ports do I connect the go free into the chart polotter and then the radar module into the second port on the gofree or do I need something else?


Thanks!
__________________

__________________
natew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2014, 10:56   #2
Registered User
 
Suijin's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Annapolis MD; currently in Oriental NC
Boat: Valiant 40
Posts: 2,880
Re: Some help connecting up simrad gear

With NMEA 2000 you basically connect all of the devices to the backbone with the "T" fittings and then terminate the end plug. Power in one end, then daisy chain the devices in with the "T" connectors, and then terminate the other end. You can bring power in through one of the "T" connectors (see below) but you will need to terminate both ends of the backbone.



Failure to terminate properly will lead to failed communication between the devices.

As far as the network goes, the question is whether the radar is using the ethernet protocol to talk to the NSS9. It may simply use CAT 5/6 cable, I'm not familiar with that unit. Hopefully someone else here will know. There are two ports on the GoFree in case you want to connect it to another network device. If possible I suggest you "dry fit" your components in advance of installation and work out the connection issues and get a fully functioning network/system before you run cable and install devices.
__________________

__________________
Suijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2014, 11:20   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ventura, CA
Boat: Horstman Tristar 38
Posts: 200
Re: Some help connecting up simrad gear

Thanks Suijin!

That's what I was afraid of when I started connecting all of this.

As for the simrad networking, that's why I quoted the ethernet part of that sentence because it looks to be proprietary connectors as they are all round type multi-pin connectors similar to NMEA but a bit larger.

Oh and it wouldn't be nearly as much fun if I had not run all the cables first.
__________________
natew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2014, 12:09   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,243
Re: Some help connecting up simrad gear

Simnet is NMEA2000, just with a greatly improved connector system. I really like the Simnet system for two reasons :

1) The cable connectors are much smaller and easier to thread through small gaps

2) Much greater flexibility of connection

I have a Simnet network connected to an NMEA 2000 one. I connected the Simnet to one of the NMEA 2000 drops (to a T). This way the NMEA 2000 is still properly terminated at the ends. On the other end of the drop is a Simnet 3-way connector, with my Simnet devices plugged into it.

Now I know this is a bit naughty according to NMEA2000 rules, but it works.

In other words, in the diagram in the previous post, the Simnet replaces one of the drop cables, NOT a terminator.
__________________
MarkSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2014, 17:44   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Some help connecting up simrad gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkSF View Post
I connected the Simnet to one of the NMEA 2000 drops (to a T). This way the NMEA 2000 is still properly terminated at the ends. On the other end of the drop is a Simnet 3-way connector, with my Simnet devices plugged into it.

Now I know this is a bit naughty according to NMEA2000 rules, but it works.
If I am understanding your description correctly, this is perfectly fine and acceptable by NMEA2000 standards. You have simply used the Simnet connector as a multiport box on a drop. As long as the total drop length (Simnet cable to backbone + instrument cable to Simnet box) is not out of spec, everything is OK. We do the exact same in our system.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2014, 11:31   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Spain
Boat: nauticat 33
Posts: 12
Re: Some help connecting up simrad gear

I have recently fitted a simrad system in my old Nauticat comprising NSE12, AP24/AC42/RC42/RF300 with a universal linear drive for the autopilot. Had a few problems getting it all to work but most of these were because of me not interpreting the instructions properly. What got me through the installation was a first class supplier with excellent technical backup (The Service Centre, Wareham, Dorset). It is all working OK now and have just fitted an Airmar transducer and the simrad BSM 1.I just hope it will be reliable. My advice to anyone DIY fitting a simrad system is buy it from a supplier who provides technical back up and not from a discount box seller who will just say return it if anything does not work.
__________________

__________________
paulnorkett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gear, simrad

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simrad NSS7 and Simrad 3G radar gunkylump Marine Electronics 6 26-04-2015 13:15
For Sale: Simrad ac40 for sale and simrad ap25 for sale heintje23 Classifieds Archive 2 04-11-2013 07:19
Re-connecting Cut Radar Cable - Help Please montenido Marine Electronics 58 22-08-2013 11:42
Help for Connecting Water Heater edwmama Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 2 27-03-2011 08:29
New to Racing . . . Looking to Buy Some Gear and Need Help dab2d Health, Safety & Related Gear 4 10-01-2011 14:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.