Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-02-2008, 16:47   #1

Boat: Researching trawlers...looking at Nordhavns and Krogens
Question Skype...

How many of you use Skype, at home or while cruising?

Wahoo
Old 21-02-2008, 17:10   #2

yay skype!

I have been using it off and on for a couple of years. After college all of my close friends scattered out across the globe...about half internationally and those calls are ridiculous expensive. Used it pretty often for the 8 months my sister was abroad in Europe, we like to talk more than email.

so yea skype is great. also, I think it is free now? i used to pay I think 6$ a month? or something, but I could call landlines as well...I think it still costs to call a landline outside of the US but I may be wrong.

my parents actually bought a wifi phone when my sister was away and that was pretty nice.

It requires a pretty solid internet connection so i don't know how well it would work using an offshore satellite connection.
VV0]2M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2008, 17:33   #3

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Skype is great but many wifi spots are limiting access now because Skype users are using up all their bandwidth.

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2008, 18:06   #4

Boat: Researching trawlers...looking at Nordhavns and Krogens
I had meant to add that I too have been using it, it was free the first year. This year I think I paid @ 30 bucks, plus a little more for an actual phone number. For the 30 bucks it allows free calls through out the US and Canada, the rates are cheap out of the US.
Old 21-02-2008, 19:35   #5

We have been using Skype for some time now. It's simply GREAT for cruisers!