Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2008, 09:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunedin, Florida
Boat: Beneteau 41' - s/v allegedly
Posts: 17
Send a message via Skype™ to allegedly
Skype

Getting all my "ducks in a row" so that I can be on the water for a year or so. Been getting all my communications active before I leave, so as to not have any problems once I depart for points south. One of which is to maintain contact with my father. Bought a number in Miami from Skype, (305 area code), for my dad to use. He's retired, fixed income. When he calls me by dialing the area code plus the number 305-XXX-XXXX, (in Miami you must use the area code for a local call) a recording said that he must dial either a 1 or a 0 before the area code. I live in the Tampa area ( area code 727). Now, I don't want him getting charged for a long distance call. My question is, is this normal for a skype number.
__________________

__________________
allegedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 06:19   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,595
Images: 240
I believe that only Skype-to-Skype calls are totally free.
Make free calls and set your conversations free with Skype
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 06:27   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
Now, I don't want him getting charged for a long distance call. My question is, is this normal for a skype number.
Some times there is a long distance charge. If it requires a 1 then it usually has a charge, but you can still get a charge without a 1 sometimes or not. Since you want him to be able to call you, you could request a Skype In number local to him. You can get a number with any area code you want then pick from a list of prefixes. Not all numbers in my personal area code are free and some area codes include free number s for me too. It sounds like that is similar to your father.

If that number on a real phone would incur charges he will pay that charge while you will pay the Skype In charge. You can't do anything except change your Skype In number.
__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 06:44   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Home port: San Diego, California. Currently in Europe.
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 40
Posts: 120
Images: 6
You can also call him using Skype. I call my kids in Portland and San Francisco using Skype. From our current location in southern Spain the cost is about 2 cents a minute.
__________________
TENAYA
www.tenayatravels.com
Jim Thomsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 07:16   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Boat: First learning :) but I'll buy one once im ready.
Posts: 35
Skype to Skype is entierly free
__________________
New and learning !


LBCS
CptnLBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 08:00   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Right now, Australia
Boat: Lagoon 420
Posts: 587
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptnLBS View Post
Skype to Skype is entierly free
And with cameras which are often built into laptops these days, you can see eachother. I frequently converse with parents (USA <-> South Africa) and it's a great way to stay in touch.
__________________
Dignity on the web
ess105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 12:56   #7
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,056
Allegedly-
Your question is not really about Skype, it is the screwed up phone system in Florida. There's no way to tell if your call is local or LD, requires a 1 or doesn't. In fact, I've dialed the same number (in SE florida) without a 1--gotten the intercept that says I need a 1, and then redialed only to get another intercept telling me I CANNOT USE THE 1 and must redial without it. More than once.
The cheapass telcos could easily program their switches to recognize the call both ways, they do this just for spite.
You'll need to have your father call his local telco to find out which exchanges are local calls for him, and then try to get a Skype number which is on a local exchange for him. That may or may not be possible.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2008, 13:46   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
Your question is not really about Skype,
Actually it is. FL isn't the only place with these problems. The problem is you can have long distance charges in your own area code as well as be forced to dial the area code with a 1. A skype In phone number is a real phone number that dials you on Skype. It allows people with a telephone to treat you like any other telephone.
__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 18:31   #9
Registered User
 
SweetSailor's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: split: athens + SD
Boat: Catalina 34 (1988) - Zeno of Elea
Posts: 26
skype et al

A bit off topic, but still on Skype ...

It is the best video conferencing solution I've found for PC-to-Mac video chat. I started using it for that reason (seems none of the people I want to talk to have a Mac like me) & it worked great. Then I really got into the other features like the long-distance calling & SMS texting options. If you want to actually record your conversations (both audio & video) there is a $14.99 plug-in you can buy that works WONDERFULLY! I use it for work all the time.

Another cool thing is Google's Grand Central - people call one single number then the service finds you (ringing at home, work, cell etc until it gets you).

You could also consider buying an 800 number. Several services there that do that.

Finally, you could get a cell phone in his local area then use it anywhere. I got a really great cell phone number about 7 years ago & have moved with it all over the country (haven't lived in the city/state of my number for 3 years!).

Good luck keeping in touch
__________________

__________________
SweetSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.