Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-03-2011, 12:09   #1
Registered User
 
west coaster's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: victoria, BC
Posts: 21
Simrad wind transducer with Raymarine Instruments?

Hi

my simrad combi & wind instruments are in poor health.

want to replace it with raymarine ST60 or 70.

anyone know if the masthead wind transducer/anerometer from simrad would be compatible or would need to be replaced?

many thanks
__________________

__________________
west coaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 14:43   #2
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Nope not compatible.

Dave
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2011, 15:51   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Haven, MI
Boat: 2006 Hanse 370e
Posts: 362
Re: Simrad wind transducer with Raymarine Instruments?

My Simrad IS12 Wind has died. However, I've learned that the Simrad IS20 Wind display is compatible with the Simrad IS12 masthead tranducer and plan to use that. My Simrad Multi is still OK.
__________________
silversailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2011, 20:42   #4
Registered User
 
west coaster's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: victoria, BC
Posts: 21
Re: Simrad wind transducer with Raymarine Instruments?

silversailor:

mine are also on a Hanse 370.

do you know if the wiring and mounting for the IS12 and IS20 are the same or close enough to making swapping them out straightforward?

thanks
__________________
west coaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2011, 09:58   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Haven, MI
Boat: 2006 Hanse 370e
Posts: 362
Re: Simrad wind transducer with Raymarine Instruments?

I'm told that the IS20 Wind display can just be swapped for the IS12 display. That the wiring, holes, and transducers are compatable. However, I suggest checking out carefully before buying. Also, IS 20s are priced all across the board. Best price I have found is $409 at fishfinder-store.com.
__________________
silversailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine, simrad

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repairing a Raymarine Wind Transducer off-the-grid Marine Electronics 12 25-09-2017 10:24
Raymarine vs Simrad dakno Marine Electronics 9 09-02-2011 13:54
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09
Raymarine Instruments Problem jim_thomsen Marine Electronics 3 03-01-2010 12:44
Raymarine ST60 masthead wind instruments Andrew Lippman Marine Electronics 2 05-06-2008 09:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.