Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-04-2015, 08:52   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Turkey
Boat: Hanse 531
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to Awatea Send a message via Skype™ to Awatea
Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

Hello
I have a Simrad IS20 system and the depth indicator is not working. Keeps flashing at 2.8m no mater what the depth. I have tried to re calibrate with out any success. The Dealer is 90 miles away and wants 250 Euros to visit! I am in Kusadasi, Turkey
Cheers
John
__________________

__________________
Awatea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2015, 12:54   #2
Registered User
 
Celestialsailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In Mexico, working on the boat
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35. and 14ft.Whitehall pulling skiff.
Posts: 8,013
Images: 5
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

Does it only happen in a slip?
__________________

__________________
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming: Wow - what a ride!"

http://wwwjolielle.blogspot.com/
Celestialsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2015, 13:04   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Turkey
Boat: Hanse 531
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to Awatea Send a message via Skype™ to Awatea
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

It happens in the water. Not working correctly at all.
__________________
Awatea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2015, 13:05   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Turkey
Boat: Hanse 531
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to Awatea Send a message via Skype™ to Awatea
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

The yacht is in the water.
__________________
Awatea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2015, 19:58   #5
Registered User
 
Celestialsailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In Mexico, working on the boat
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 35. and 14ft.Whitehall pulling skiff.
Posts: 8,013
Images: 5
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

Ok...I have a stand alone Si-tex that gives me grief. I've had it replaced 3 times. It's still not great. I was told by Si-tex that in a slip with a "non-firm" bottom, they do not work well. Mine would blink out. Occasionally a number 46 would come up which apparently was some kind of code. I miss my old Standard Horizon gauge which they no longer make.
__________________
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming: Wow - what a ride!"

http://wwwjolielle.blogspot.com/
Celestialsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2015, 12:16   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD
Boat: Gozzard, 44CC, 50'
Posts: 159
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

Did it ever work? Was the bottom just painted and the transducer covered with copper content bottom paint? Do you also have sonar? Does it only happen in your slip? Is the transducer head clean? These are some of the culprits.
__________________
Scrimshaw4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2015, 13:00   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Turkey
Boat: Hanse 531
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to Awatea Send a message via Skype™ to Awatea
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

Hi, It has work well for me over the years. However just before lifting it started to play up and I put it down to a very dirty bottom. However we have been cleaned, and new antifouling. I never paint the transducer. So we are back in the water and it stuck on 3.7 m and flashing. When we went out last weekend the depth stayed the same.
__________________
Awatea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2015, 14:55   #8
Registered User
 
deblen's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Grand Manan,N.B.,Canada N44.40 W66.50
Boat: Mascot 28 pilothouse motorsailer 28ft
Posts: 1,400
Images: 1
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

pg 35 in online manual-Setting Depth Alarms,etc. Have you set any alarms?
If alarms are not the problem-suggest you reset the unit to Default settings & start over.
__________________
My personal experience & humble opinions-feel free to ignore both
deblen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2015, 18:39   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Tasmania
Boat: Hanse 400e 12M
Posts: 17
Send a message via Skype™ to aitch
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

Sounds like a triducer problem ( not a Simrad product but used by Simrad and many other nav system providers.)
I own a Hanse with Simrad navigation, and had a similar problem until the triducer had a software upgrade (which was done by NAVICO while on board with the log in.)
The tech involved told me at the time that it was a known problem.
__________________
aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2015, 23:38   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Turkey
Boat: Hanse 531
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to Awatea Send a message via Skype™ to Awatea
Re: Simrad Depth Sounder Problems

Thanks guys for your help. Yes I have re set it a number of times.
I think the update by Simrad dealer maybe the next step. Expensive as it is.
But its a boat! :-)
__________________

__________________
Awatea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth, depth sounder, simrad

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Depth sounder alarm in San Pedro Channel . . . ? Mary General Sailing Forum 15 29-10-2006 10:57
Depth Sounder Installation Steve Kidson Marine Electronics 1 12-06-2006 05:25
Depth Sounder Thru-Hull Alternative? markpj23 Marine Electronics 17 16-05-2006 23:34
Depth Sounder Troubleshooting exposure Construction, Maintenance & Refit 9 10-02-2004 15:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.