Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-04-2015, 21:15   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

I have an ST60 wind and an ST60 multi (depth speed) that I want to extract data into a NMEA 2000 system. Installed a SeaTalk to SeaTalkng converter, and connected a converter cable from the converter to the first SeaTalk device on the spur. Also connected a drop cable from the converter to the NMEA2000 network. Now I am up to power connection, with questions:

1. My understanding is that hooking up the SeaTalkng power cable to the converter will supply power to the NMEA2000 network as well (via the drop cable that connects the converter to the NMEA network). Is that correct.

2. It appears that the ST60 instruments will get power from the converter as well. Correct?

3. The SeaTalkng power cable has a red, black, and bare wire. What is the bare wire for?

I am going from the two ST60 instruments and a Garmin plotter, to a B&G Zeus2 chartplotter, 4G radar, Vesper AIS transceiver, NMEA2000 network with GPS, WiFi, VHF, etc. And a lot of new wiring, switches and fuses. Just about have everything installed but working on final hookup. So far at least the VHF and stereo work. Trying to be careful not to fry anything!

mike
__________________

__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2015, 06:29   #2
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailjumanji View Post
I have an ST60 wind and an ST60 multi (depth speed) that I want to extract data into a NMEA 2000 system. Installed a SeaTalk to SeaTalkng converter, and connected a converter cable from the converter to the first SeaTalk device on the spur. Also connected a drop cable from the converter to the NMEA2000 network. Now I am up to power connection, with questions:
If you have an existing NMEA2000, the convertor can be placed in-line with the NMEA2000 bus ( but just be aware of connector differences etc)

Alternatively , use a drop cable to the NMEA2000

Quote:
1. My understanding is that hooking up the SeaTalkng power cable to the converter will supply power to the NMEA2000 network as well (via the drop cable that connects the converter to the NMEA network). Is that correct.

yes, thats correct

Quote:
2. It appears that the ST60 instruments will get power from the converter as well. Correct?
yes

Quote:
3. The SeaTalkng power cable has a red, black, and bare wire. What is the bare wire for?
its a shield
Quote:
I am going from the two ST60 instruments and a Garmin plotter, to a B&G Zeus2 chartplotter, 4G radar, Vesper AIS transceiver, NMEA2000 network with GPS, WiFi, VHF, etc. And a lot of new wiring, switches and fuses. Just about have everything installed but working on final hookup. So far at least the VHF and stereo work. Trying to be careful not to fry anything!

mike
be aware that the ST60 /seatalk bus and the convertor , only converts a fairly limited range of data, for example I dont believe true wind is converted


dave
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2015, 06:39   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

Thanks Dave. Would you hook the shield up to the negative, or just leave it unconnected. I don't have a grounding plate. My boat is powered by outboard motors.

"True wind"? I think this is calculated data, using the measured apparent wind and the boat speed. Am hoping that the apparent wind and boat speed comes thru, and suspect that the B&G SailSteer can calculate the true wind. (At this point, I am optimistic!)
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2015, 06:54   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

Ok, so here is another question, this time about the NMEA2000 network. I have a 4-spur block, a backbone cable, and then three T's screwed together directly. Can the last T have the standard spur come off of the top and go to an instrument, and also a spur to another instrument where the backbone cable or a terminator would be located? In other words, can a T have two spurs - each connected to a different instrument - come off of it?
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2015, 06:55   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

And are there any no-no's on running the NMEA2000 cables? Can I run it alongside 12v power lines?
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2015, 13:02   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

Ok, I have read that the end of the T has to have a termination, and not a spur cable to an instrument.

Am still not sure what to do with the shield? Wrap this with the black wire and connect to negative side of battery?
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2015, 20:54   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,696
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

I don't hook up the red from the seatalk to the seatalk adapter.


the seatalk stuff is already powered. build a powered n2k network if you don't already have one. then just connect the yellow and shield from the seatalk to adapter. each will be self powered. and everything will work. especially if there is a pilot in the system. because normall that already powers the st60 stuff as well as the pilot display


if you build a n2k network and connect existing st60 stuff in with all 3 wires. everything will be double powered.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2015, 12:30   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

That makes sense. Have considered this (thanks for the replys) and done some additional investigation of how it was hooked up before though. The ST60 instruments are powered separate from the SmartPilot. There is a yellow and negative (black) that comes from the ST60 depth to the pilot. That is how the pilot is getting the data from the two ST60 instruments, but as the red is not hooked up to the pilot, it is not getting double powered.

The SeaTalkng converter has a spur with the standard SeaTalk plug on the other end that provides power to the ST60's, and gets data from them. I will use that for powering the ST60 instruments, the converter, and also the N2K network (as the converter spur plugs into one of the T's). Just leave the yellow and negative going to the pilot from the last ST60, and that should get my pilot info to the converter and thus into the network.

As you pointed out, I could instead provide the power to the N2K, which would power the converter, and also the ST60 instruments. I like that better but it means another T in the N2K network, and I already have unused spots on the converter for the power instead. I am running out of room for additional connectors, having put all of this into the back of a galley cabinet (VHF coming thru wall, Vesper AIS transceiver, antenna splitter, radar interface box, switches, fuse box, negative bus, six-drop N2K). I got a WiFi with the purchase of the B&G instruments, and I may just leave it off due to lack of space!
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2015, 02:04   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,696
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

you need to power the n2k / seatalk ng network (same bus), and hence the converter via it's nmea 2k / seatalk ng connection. the converter won't power up via the seatalk power.


I'm pretty sure that is what I found but it's been a few months since I played around with it. as I already posted. my soulution was power the n2k, power the seatalk. and not connect the red from the seatalk to the adapter.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2015, 02:14   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,696
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

I just reread your first post and I think your are confused. you don't drop a line from the n2k bus to the converter. the converter becomes part of the bus. you come from the end of the n2k bus (remove n2k terminator) and run to end of converter with a seatalk ng bus to nmea 2k converter cable (I don't think they make one of these, I make my own). then the other end of the converter has the blue terminator. so you end up with half a seatalk ng network and half a n2k network joined in the middle by a bus converter cable.


the n2k and seatalkng is a single bus. they are the same thing just different connectors. you can power the single bus from either the seatalkng ports on the coverter or a n2k tee


from the converter you can power the st60 gauges. but since they are existing. it would just be easier to not connect the red as I posted above. and leave all the existing wires as is. if you are redoing everything. and want to power from the n2k. then you need to remove the existing power to the st60's


if you drop a single line from a n2k tee to the converter, and only plug the seatalk plug in, and use the black blank plugs in the ends instead of the blue terminators it might work. but defiantly don't use the blue ones if you are dropping to the converter.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2015, 06:16   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

So what you are saying is that the SeaTalkng converter should be connected just like another T in the N2K network? So connect it at the end of the N2K network with a backbone cable, instead of a spur?

I have removed the old power connection to the ST60 gauges. Originally the series was powered up by a cord that had a SeaTalk connector on the end. The spur coming from the converter has a similar hard plug, and that is how the instruments now get their power. Which is why I was going to power the converter, and not the N2K with another power wire, and certainly not the ST60's. I think I got that right.

I currently have a "sea talk ng to devicenet" cable that fits from the converter white to the N2K T spur end. What you are saying I need instead is a cable that has a blue connector to the converter, and a N2K connector at the other end that would connect like a backbone. (That N2K end fitting would be a male?)

I know there are currently two white-end sea talk ng to devicenet cables available. One has a male devicenet end, and one has a female. I have one that connects to the T at the top - like a spur - so that must be a female end fitting?
__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2015, 07:14   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Port Aransas, Texas
Boat: 2002 Seawind 1000 (33 ft) Cat
Posts: 840
Re: Seatalk to Seatalkng to NMEA 2000 Power

Ok, I just talked with Raymarine. Amazing - got in under five minutes. Anyway the recommended installation is to splice a SeaTalkng blue-connector backbone cable into a N2K backbone cable. I suspect that is what you were trying to say?
__________________

__________________
sailjumanji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, nmea 2000, seatalk

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NMEA 2000 power supply svfinnishline Marine Electronics 3 03-06-2014 23:03
NMEA 2000: Micro/mini/mid? Power taps, T taps... What does it all mean? Toubab Marine Electronics 10 11-12-2013 05:57
Seatalk Ng and NMEA 2000 connecting X5 and E7 TheOffice Marine Electronics 0 21-10-2012 19:40
Seatalk NG Autopilot to NMEA 2000 Helimech Marine Electronics 4 03-10-2011 13:49
Power from NMEA-2000 JRM Marine Electronics 4 23-04-2011 20:46



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.