Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2009, 03:20   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
SeaTalk to NMEA

hi,newcomer to this forum, and to electronics, but you could stop my boat from collecting anymore dents from flying screwdrivers,if you could explain how to conect my st1000 autopilot to a cp300 chartploter and cliper wind instr. thanks whucky.
__________________

__________________
whucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 09:40   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Roy M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwestern Yacht Club, San Diego, CA
Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Posts: 3,042
Images: 4
Whucky, try this site to understand the difference between Seatalk and NMEA: Thomas Knauf ****SeaTalk Technical Reference

Seatalk carries power in the red wire. The data is the yellow wire. Ground is black.

NMEA is a on-way street, no back and forth communication. GPS would send its position data to the chart plotter. The autopilot sends and receives on the NMEA IN and OUT terminals. Seatalk is a Raymarine proprietary product, so the three wire cable won't do you any good when trying to interface with a non-Raymarine unit. You can try a Seatalk-to-NMEA multiplexer, but read the owner/installation manuals first to see if it will meet your needs. I've also wired all my NMEA data wires (the yellow wires ONLY) into a common buss (a common buss terminal, a brass strip with muliple screws) and output that to my Raymarine chartplotter via the NMEA input. By reading the previos reference to how NMEA works, you can see the logic of this. Even the Raymarine people agreed with me after I demonstrated that it worked.
__________________

__________________
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 00:59   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
hi, roy heading to boat at weekend ,so i will give that a try, thanks for your help,whucky
__________________
whucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 17:19   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Scotland
Boat: Young Sun 43 Ketch - Scotts' Mist
Posts: 15
I've got the clipper wind inst.

IIRC, it doesn't have any NMEA output/input. So you can't connect it to anything. That's a pest since it would be nice for the autohelm to steer to the apparent wind. I think it's a case of you get what you pay for with the Nasa stuff.

Regards,
Iain
__________________
iain_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2009, 01:06   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
hope you are wrong about that, i asked before buying the wind instr and was assured it had nmea output

thanks, whucky.
__________________
whucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2009, 05:55   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy M View Post
I've also wired all my NMEA data wires (the yellow wires ONLY) into a common buss (a common buss terminal, a brass strip with muliple screws) and output that to my Raymarine chartplotter via the NMEA input. By reading the previos reference to how NMEA works, you can see the logic of this. Even the Raymarine people agreed with me after I demonstrated that it worked.

Roy M, are you saying that the simply paralleled all of your NMEA sources/receivers without any special interface, and all of that NMEA data is available to whatever equipment needs/uses it?
__________________
SoonerSailor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2009, 08:59   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North to Seattle
Boat: Cooper 416
Posts: 264
Raymarine interface e-85001
__________________
Redcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2009, 17:08   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
Roy M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwestern Yacht Club, San Diego, CA
Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Posts: 3,042
Images: 4
Soonersailor, read the site listed in the beginning of the thread regarding how SeaTalk works. It will give you an idea of how this type of network is transporting information, as well as its limitations. It's pretty cool, once you get it. NMEA can ONLY send or receive these strings of data. That's why you have NMEA input positive and output positives, plus the accompanying negative wires. Add a 12 volt power wire, and the software to process stuff in two directions, and you have Seatalk. It was a pretty clever idea in its day. Then came ethernet cable and that was the advent of the high speed network. Then, along came the later network of a single cable with junction nodes called Seatalk ng (for next generation). This is evolution in action.

Regarding the use of a single buss terminal as a distribution node for NMEA 0183, it's probably not discovery on my part, I simply observed that an NMEA 0183 device that is outputting data doesn't need to coordinate its data with the stream from other units doing the same. Information either slips into the line of data, or it crashes into another sentence, thus negating the two pieces of data for a millisecond until the next pieces fall into sync. Same for a device reading (input of data) the stream of sentences. If it is programmed to accept only the info for water depth or wind angle, only that info gets shown on the display. So, I tried it, dumping NMEA 0183 outputs into a terminal buss, and wiring the inputs into the same buss. Think of it as plumbing with one way valves and a big manifold. It has limited use, but it seems to work fine.
__________________
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2009, 01:18   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
the bus bar idea sounds good, tried it out but autopilot still not getting any data, its a 7 year old unit, begining to wonder if it has a fault, any way you know of to check this out, thanks bill.
__________________
whucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2009, 10:44   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
Roy M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwestern Yacht Club, San Diego, CA
Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Posts: 3,042
Images: 4
You mention that the autopilot is not getting any data. I know that you can test the GPS for sending its data by connecting the yellow NMEA 0183 wire to the positive probe of a digital voltmeter, and the black to the negative probe, then watch the voltages change from 0 to about 6-8 volts as data rolls along. I haven't done that yet with the fluxgate compass, but I'm going to give it a try sometime. Other than a rudder position indicator, what else is input to your autopilot? Oh yeah, the control head in the cockpit. Look for some interruption in the data coming to the autopilot control that sends directions to the drive motor. Sorry I can't be more specific but I'm operating at the fringes of my knowledge and experience. Hope this helps. At a certain point, you might begin considering a new autopilot that integrates with your other electronics. Maybe, to act as a personal contribution to the international economic stimulus, and to increase the personal and economic value of your boat, you could rationalize this as a patriotic duty and then go sailing as a reward for such stalwart sacrifice.
__________________
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2009, 17:54   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Scotland
Boat: Young Sun 43 Ketch - Scotts' Mist
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by whucky View Post
hope you are wrong about that, i asked before buying the wind instr and was assured it had nmea output

thanks, whucky.
Hi Whucky,

Just done a bit of digging into the NMEA output on the NASA clipper wind. It looks like they introduced NMEA output on post January 2003 models.

Mine looks identical to the current models but doesn't have the output nor does it mention it in the manual.

Interestingly the "current" manual link on the nasa page doesn't mention it either. Perhaps its just an old manual?

http://www.nasamarine.com/pdfs/Clipper%20wind.pdf

Does anyone know if the repeater port uses an NMEA output or is it just a pass-thru connection from the masthead sensor?

The last page of the manual refers to the "remote repeater facility" but doesn't mention what the signal protocol is.

Hope you are getting everything to work!

Regards,
Iain
__________________
iain_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2009, 09:47   #12
Registered User
 
Sailndive345's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St Augustine, FL
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 461
Posts: 349
Don't know about the wind instrument but your Raymarine autopilot should accept NMEA input. I also use a Raymarine autopilot (different model than yours) and connect a Northstar GPS/chartplotter through its NMEA port to interface the two.

I had very good luck in receiving technical assistance from Raymarine in the past for this type of question - you may want to send them an email or a call them as well.

Good luck!

Sailndive
__________________
Sailndive345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 02:10   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
whucky

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy M View Post
You mention that the autopilot is not getting any data. I know that you can test the GPS for sending its data by connecting the yellow NMEA 0183 wire to the positive probe of a digital voltmeter, and the black to the negative probe, then watch the voltages change from 0 to about 6-8 volts as data rolls along. I haven't done that yet with the fluxgate compass, but I'm going to give it a try sometime. Other than a rudder position indicator, what else is input to your autopilot? Oh yeah, the control head in the cockpit. Look for some interruption in the data coming to the autopilot control that sends directions to the drive motor. Sorry I can't be more specific but I'm operating at the fringes of my knowledge and experience. Hope this helps. At a certain point, you might begin considering a new autopilot that integrates with your other electronics. Maybe, to act as a personal contribution to the international economic stimulus, and to increase the personal and economic value of your boat, you could rationalize this as a patriotic duty and then go sailing as a reward for such stalwart sacrifice.
patriotic duty sounds fine to me, will not feel so guilty about spending now.
__________________
whucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2009, 02:15   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
whucky

Quote:
Originally Posted by iain_scott View Post
Hi Whucky,

Just done a bit of digging into the NMEA output on the NASA clipper wind. It looks like they introduced NMEA output on post January 2003 models.

Mine looks identical to the current models but doesn't have the output nor does it mention it in the manual.

Interestingly the "current" manual link on the nasa page doesn't mention it either. Perhaps its just an old manual?

http://www.nasamarine.com/pdfs/Clipper%20wind.pdf

Does anyone know if the repeater port uses an NMEA output or is it just a pass-thru connection from the masthead sensor?

The last page of the manual refers to the "remote repeater facility" but doesn't mention what the signal protocol is.

Hope you are getting everything to work!

Regards,
Iain
hi ian, my book is new and there is no mention of nmea in it .
__________________

__________________
whucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, seatalk

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ST50 SeaTalk connectors scotte Marine Electronics 4 14-09-2016 12:36
Raymarine E120 Display/SeaTalk for sale PS37 Classifieds Archive 1 16-03-2009 14:40
The NMEA Mystery Sandero Marine Electronics 18 21-06-2006 20:20
Looking for Seatalk to NEMA Interface C270 Marine Electronics 0 02-05-2005 01:24



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.