Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2014, 09:33   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 777
Sea Tel tv?

Hello all,

I am hoping to close on this boat next week that has a Sea Tel dome. Does anyone know if I can use this for direct or some kind of satellite tv? If so, do I need to purchase a receiver or something?
__________________

__________________
GalaxyGirl
5KidsAndaBoat
GalaxyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2014, 13:06   #2
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,985
Re: Sea Tel tv?

Here's one ref: Cobham plc :: Aerospace and Security, SATCOM, Sea Tel ST24 Satellite TV


Not sure it's the main source or not, just did a quick search. Looks like satellite, so if there's no receiver on board, yes, you'd need one.

That said... broadcast TV is generally available, doesn't take much of an antenna, and you'll probably have that immediately available no matter whether the other systems seem eventually useful or not.

-Chris
__________________

__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2014, 22:14   #3
mcm
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 92
Re: Sea Tel tv?

If the basic system is complete all you should need is the receiver from direct or whoever, otherwise you may need a control panel from sea tel and then a multi switch with interconnections between the pieces..
__________________
mcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2014, 18:39   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 777
Re: Sea Tel tv?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcm View Post
If the basic system is complete all you should need is the receiver from direct or whoever, otherwise you may need a control panel from sea tel and then a multi switch with interconnections between the pieces..
I located the antenna control unit today. Is the multi switch used to connect multiple receivers? Is it installed between the TV's and the control unit or between the control unit and the antenna?

Thanks for the help.
__________________
GalaxyGirl
5KidsAndaBoat
GalaxyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2014, 19:10   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 777
Re: Sea Tel tv?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger42c View Post
Here's one ref: Cobham plc :: Aerospace and Security, SATCOM, Sea Tel ST24 Satellite TV


Not sure it's the main source or not, just did a quick search. Looks like satellite, so if there's no receiver on board, yes, you'd need one.

That said... broadcast TV is generally available, doesn't take much of an antenna, and you'll probably have that immediately available no matter whether the other systems seem eventually useful or not.

-Chris
Chris,
That is actually a good idea. If I can't figure this out prior to getting the boat to Boston I could grab a converter box and at least have some local tv along the way.
__________________
GalaxyGirl
5KidsAndaBoat
GalaxyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2014, 19:58   #6
mcm
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 92
Re: Sea Tel tv?

If memory is correct, it goes between the control panel and the receiver, is powered by 120 v, if the c.p is there and wired it is highly likely the m.s is there also. If no m.s. it will not work as the dish will not track. you will need to source the circuit brkr that controls the m.s. to be sure you can receive signal without shore power, i.e. turn on genny or inverter. If you cant find any wire daigs, let me now I have one somewhere, or seatel would oblige.
__________________
mcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2014, 19:36   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 777
Re: Sea Tel tv?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcm View Post
If memory is correct, it goes between the control panel and the receiver, is powered by 120 v, if the c.p is there and wired it is highly likely the m.s is there also. If no m.s. it will not work as the dish will not track. you will need to source the circuit brkr that controls the m.s. to be sure you can receive signal without shore power, i.e. turn on genny or inverter. If you cant find any wire daigs, let me now I have one somewhere, or seatel would oblige.
ok, thanks for the help!!!
__________________

__________________
GalaxyGirl
5KidsAndaBoat
GalaxyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot Key Harbor Tel Line Damaged Alterboy 65 Our Community 6 31-03-2012 08:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.