Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-10-2014, 06:57   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 23
Sea Talk cable to nmea/seatalk multiplexer

HI

I got a Gadgetpool nmea/seatalk multiplexer and I need a connection cable between the seatalk network and the multiplexer. Can I just get a ordinary seatalk link Cable and strip the end of it?

mutliplexer:
gadgetPool.de

Cable:
RAYMARINE Sea Talk Cables | West Marine

Thanks
__________________

affe304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2014, 02:00   #2
Registered User
 
happydart's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Burcht Belgium
Boat: Dartsailer 30 De vries Lentz
Posts: 1
Re: Sea Talk cable to nmea/seatalk multiplexer

Quote:
Originally Posted by affe304 View Post
HI

I got a Gadgetpool nmea/seatalk multiplexer and I need a connection cable between the seatalk network and the multiplexer. Can I just get a ordinary seatalk link Cable and strip the end of it?

mutliplexer:
gadgetPool.de

Cable:
RAYMARINE Sea Talk Cables | West Marine

Thanks
Yes just strip it and connect ...
__________________

__________________
"We can't change the wind ...but we can adjust our sails "
happydart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2014, 03:36   #3
Moderator
 
carstenb's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3
Posts: 5,003
Images: 1
Re: Sea Talk cable to nmea/seatalk multiplexer

Quote:
Originally Posted by happydart View Post
Yes just strip it and connect ...
Welcome aboard Happydart
and happy new year
__________________
I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by
carstenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2014, 12:51   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,926
Re: Sea Talk cable to nmea/seatalk multiplexer

that thing looks cool.


you just need any cable wire 3 wires. although the seatalk calble with correct colors make it's easier / better.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 16:37   #5
Registered User
 
ilCigno's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Boat: Compromis 888 (29ft)
Posts: 24
Images: 1
Re: Sea Talk cable to nmea/seatalk multiplexer

Like Smac999 said, any 3-wire cable will do. However, there are some advantages on using 'real' Seatalk1 cable. First, the Seatalk1 cable is shielded, which helps to avoid data loss due to external noise. Second, is is very hard to obtain a 3-wire cable with the right color coding of te wires:
red-12 Volt plus
yellow-Seatalk1 data
Blank shielding-common minus

There comes a day when you are glad you used the correct wire colors!
ilCigno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, seatalk

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting RS232 or USB to NMEA or Sea Talk hwturner Marine Electronics 3 20-08-2013 03:58
For Sale: Raymarine NMEA-0183 Multiplexer NahanniV Classifieds Archive 11 27-03-2013 14:22
Seatalk-NMEA-Display lockie Marine Electronics 18 14-10-2012 20:45
For Sale: NMEA-0183 Raymarine Multiplexer new $60 Ram Classifieds Archive 0 16-12-2009 08:59
SeaTalk to NMEA whucky Marine Electronics 13 18-06-2009 01:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.