Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-02-2009, 20:58   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Adelaide Aus
Boat: Tasman elite Cat
Posts: 82
Send a message via ICQ to Steve Thompson Send a message via AIM to Steve Thompson
Robertson Stowe Wind Speed

I have a 9 yr old set of Robinson dataline gauges which until now have worked fine.Whilst doing some maint at the top of the mast have broken the wind speed ind cups.Would any one know if a new wheel with the 3 cups is available as a spare part or alternatively a new mast top unit.
A new tic tac unit looks good but so is the price
Thanks Steve
__________________

__________________
Steve Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 03:40   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,577
Images: 240
See these from Stowe Marine Electronics Stowe Marine Electronics
Carbon Fibre Solid State Wind Transducer Here:
Stowe Marine Electronics
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 04:02   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Gords link should help as they have a Dataline replacement. It's the whole setup as you can't service parts on the transducer. Transducer replacement would be the lower cost, but wiring often is the problem.

I saw some new pricing on TackTick too for a wind only. Don't forget with TackTick the installation is no more than a attaching 3 threaded bolts to the masthead for mounting. After that it's a 3 minute job. Pulling the mast to rewire the the transducer would allow you to have at all the rest of the wires but it's a big job. You can't just drop the wire down the inside and grab it at the bottom.
__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2009, 17:54   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Adelaide Aus
Boat: Tasman elite Cat
Posts: 82
Send a message via ICQ to Steve Thompson Send a message via AIM to Steve Thompson
Gord and Paul thanks for your quick response.I have been looking for days but didnt think to put in [Stowe] at 299 pounds plus freight plus vat plus gst when it gets to australia I might go the wireless tac tic way at least the whole unit is new.
Thanks once again Steve
__________________
Steve Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 04:01   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Townsville
Boat: Hartley 30
Posts: 10
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Hartley30
Hi guys, just regarding the Stowe transducer, do you know if you can buy the mast head block and cable on its own?
__________________
Hartley30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 05:17   #6
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lymington, UK
Boat: Still saving!
Posts: 3
Re: Robertson Stowe Wind Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartley30 View Post
Hi guys, just regarding the Stowe transducer, do you know if you can buy the mast head block and cable on its own?
Yes, we have new mast cables in stock: www.stowemarine.com

+44 (0)1590 610071

Cheers,

Richard
__________________
tinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 07:28   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Townsville
Boat: Hartley 30
Posts: 10
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Hartley30
Re: Robertson Stowe Wind Speed

Tinley,
I bought the gauge and transducer for really cheap, it is old but apparently still works, I cannot find the model number on it, all I can find is WM with 3362 hand written on the back of the gauge. The transducer has a 7 pin plug. Can you give me a price please if you think it would fit a transducer from around 1980.
Cheers,
Simon
__________________
Hartley30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 07:31   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Townsville
Boat: Hartley 30
Posts: 10
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Hartley30
Re: Robertson Stowe Wind Speed

Tinley,
If you know what model I have can you please let me know for future reference.
Cheers,
Simon
__________________
Hartley30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 08:24   #9
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lymington, UK
Boat: Still saving!
Posts: 3
Re: Robertson Stowe Wind Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartley30 View Post
Tinley,
I bought the gauge and transducer for really cheap, it is old but apparently still works, I cannot find the model number on it, all I can find is WM with 3362 hand written on the back of the gauge. The transducer has a 7 pin plug. Can you give me a price please if you think it would fit a transducer from around 1980.
Cheers,
Simon
Hi Simon,

They are 110 (GBP) + shipping + VAT. The model name for your instrument is a 'Wind Monitor'. Our current mast head unit is a fully compatible upgrade and we are happy servicing rather than replacing!

Cheers,

Richard
__________________
tinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2013, 08:35   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Townsville
Boat: Hartley 30
Posts: 10
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Hartley30
Re: Robertson Stowe Wind Speed

Richard,

Thanks for that, how much is it to ship to Australia, and VAT?

Cheers,

Simon
__________________

__________________
Hartley30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Robertson Stowe Dataline Instruments Ocean2Free Navigation 1 31-03-2010 11:09
Websites for Wind Speed Forecasts? sinknn General Sailing Forum 8 11-03-2010 05:00
Do I Have Enough Wind Speed? Dinghy101 General Sailing Forum 13 20-10-2009 17:23
wind speed limitations michaelmrc Seamanship & Boat Handling 10 22-10-2008 12:07
Wind speed/direction displays By Invitation General Sailing Forum 20 20-05-2008 04:18



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.