Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-03-2009, 08:07   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Boat: Hans Christian 38T- Oblivion
Posts: 39
Send a message via Skype™ to tardog
Robertson Hyd. Arm/Simrad Control Unit

I have an older boat that came with a non-operating Robertson autopilot. It utilizes a hydraulic arm, which seems to be in fine condition, but the control unit is dead in the water. Looking at a new Simrad unit, the hydraulic arm looks identical to the one I've already got. So I'm wondering what the likeliehood is a new Simrad control unit will coordinate with the old arm. Sure would save some $...anyone have any knowledge of the compatibility of these two?
__________________
tardog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2009, 10:03   #2
Registered User
 
slacker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego and Mazatlan
Boat: Gulfstar 37 "SLACKER"
Posts: 147
robertson

One of the inportant things to remember is that Robertson/Simrad dosent make pumps or rams. If you look at a Comnav, Robertson, Simrad, Autohelm, RayMarine ect pump you will notice that they are all the same. There are typically two sizes that are matched to the ram size and vessel weight. Robertson/Simrad calls theirs the RPU 80 and RPU 160. Most rams are manufactured by Hytonics.

To answer your question, they just dont care. The pumps have a 3 wire control hookup from the junction box that sends a signal to the motor to spin the pump clockwise or counterclockwise.

If you have more questions call Simrad. They use to be Robertson and I have found them very helpfull.

We have a 25 year old Robertson system that I have kept functioning by purchasing parts off ebay. Its amazing how many of them their are out there. Ours now uses an AP200 control head, a junction box origonaly from a AP25 system.

I have purchased two complete eletronics packages (for spares) piece by piece, never paying more than $ 30 for each.

Good Luck
__________________
slacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2009, 10:38   #3
Registered User
 
CARL's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Guernsey channel islands.
Posts: 50
My Robertson ap packed up last year i replaced with a simrad control and upgraded compass the same time ,ram is origonal, result is a far better more responsive pilot .i would certainly recomend upgrading the heading compass.
__________________
CARL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
simrad

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Simrad AP20 Control Head... gbanker Marine Electronics 7 19-05-2010 12:23
Hatch Arm cazimmy Construction, Maintenance & Refit 5 20-05-2008 08:43
NEEDED---Danfoss electronic control unit james taylor Classifieds Archive 2 27-10-2007 00:57
Do you arm your vessel when voyageing???? wolfgang Health, Safety & Related Gear 3 11-11-2006 04:00
Autohelm 6000, Control Unit BrendanChandler General Sailing Forum 9 18-06-2006 13:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.