Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-06-2013, 13:44   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mystic
Boat: Sabre 38 mkII
Posts: 261
Retrofit of Raymarine speedlog to old thru-hull?

In the dim and distant past, the 2" thru-hull had the autohelm Z092 transducer..about 40mm in dia.
Well after a lightning strike and an intermittent transducer for some time its now deceased and pushing up daisies.
So, unless someone has magical ideas of where i can find a hoarded Zo92 transducer, I need to retrofit a newer transducer (E25025) into the boat. These are 35mm in dia, yet use the same hull hole dia as the original (2").
Has anyone ever retrofited these trasnducers into an older thru-hull?, say by using a sleeve or pipe?.. if you know these transducers you will know what i mean.

Otherwise i am into taking out the old thruhull when i haul this fall..and of course, its not easy to get to.

thx
__________________

__________________
Mystic38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2013, 14:41   #2
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Retrofit of Raymarine speedlog to old thru-hull?

There is an outfit called Airmar that makes lots of tranducers that interchange .
__________________

__________________
Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2013, 16:54   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mystic
Boat: Sabre 38 mkII
Posts: 261
Re: Retrofit of Raymarine speedlog to old thru-hull?

indeed, airmar makes pretty much all the transducers for raymarine, garmin, furuno etc.. however the ones in question are no longer in manufacture, hence the question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy View Post
There is an outfit called Airmar that makes lots of tranducers that interchange .
__________________
Mystic38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2013, 17:24   #4
Registered User
 
jeremiason's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Punta Gorda, Florida
Boat: Sea Ray 270
Posts: 1,427
Images: 2
Send a message via ICQ to jeremiason Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiason Send a message via Skype™ to jeremiason
Re: Retrofit of Raymarine speedlog to old thru-hull?

I replaced the old transducer on my C-36 with a newer Raymarine transducer.

I had the boat hauled and hanged one day during lunch at the local boat yard.

I beat the old plastic through hull out and installed the new one in about 20 minutes. The boat was back in the water as soon as the crane operator came back from lunch.

It isn't a big deal as long as they use the same size hole.
__________________
Tom Jeremiason
Punta Gorda, Florida

jeremiason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2013, 19:07   #5
Guy
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So. Oregon, USA
Boat: Seafarer36c
Posts: 4,308
Re: Retrofit of Raymarine speedlog to old thru-hull?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic38 View Post
indeed, airmar makes pretty much all the transducers for raymarine, garmin, furuno etc.. however the ones in question are no longer in manufacture, hence the question.
I wish they made the one for my SH knot meter.
__________________
Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.