Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2013, 12:53   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Rebuilt my Datamarine masthead unit to fix the anemometer, but now the directional no longer works and even the speed is not quite right (too much friction in the replacement, it seems).

Anyway, I am only going up the mast one more time on this deal and want to replace the masthead once and for all. My question:

I don't want to buy something new to replace old instrumentation, but can't really afford a whole new unit right now.


Will other masthead units work with the Datamarine instrumentation?
__________________

__________________
Voyage of Symbiosis: http://svsymbiosis.blogspot.com/
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 06:11   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

bump.
__________________

__________________
Voyage of Symbiosis: http://svsymbiosis.blogspot.com/
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 06:55   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Bristol 45.5
Posts: 25
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Marine Electronics of Hartfield (Virginia) usually has a supply of refurbed datamarine equipment.
__________________
S/V Pearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 07:04   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,571
Images: 240
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Check out DMI Marine, Inc.
330 Wareham Street
Middleboro, MA 02346
Tel: 774-213-9744
Fax: none, please use email
Email: dmi@dmimarine.com
Web ➥ DMI Marine, Inc.

DMI-MHU Replacement MastHead Unit - Limited quantities. White boom arm. - $750
http://www.dmimarine.com/DMIPIX/DMI-MHU.JPG
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 10:49   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
Check out DMI Marine, Inc.
330 Wareham Street
Middleboro, MA 02346
Tel: 774-213-9744
Fax: none, please use email
Email: dmi@dmimarine.com
Web ➥ DMI Marine, Inc.

DMI-MHU Replacement MastHead Unit - Limited quantities. White boom arm. - $750
http://www.dmimarine.com/DMIPIX/DMI-MHU.JPG
Thanks, Gord, but for $750, I might as well get a whole new unit. The pricing on DMI stuff is ridiculous.
__________________
Voyage of Symbiosis: http://svsymbiosis.blogspot.com/
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 07:15   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Windham, NH
Boat: Sabre 38
Posts: 25
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

I just had my masthead unit rebuilt by DMI and it cost me $250.

George
__________________
george123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:42   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by george123 View Post
I just had my masthead unit rebuilt by DMI and it cost me $250.

George
That might be acceptible, but that's about the cost of a lower-cost unit, such as NASA, that's complete (and more up-to-date). I don't mind having old Datamarine instruments, but I was hoping to find a masthead unit for around $100 - there must be thousands of them floating around, so to speak, as Datamarine was the standard install on lots and lots of boats in the 80s.

Btw, Marine Electronics of Hartfield doesn't seem to respond to their email.
__________________
Voyage of Symbiosis: http://svsymbiosis.blogspot.com/
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 11:53   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,310
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

There were two Datamarine masthead units made, and they don't interchange.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 15:15   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by donradcliffe View Post
There were two Datamarine masthead units made, and they don't interchange.
Mine is the LX-360.
__________________
Voyage of Symbiosis: http://svsymbiosis.blogspot.com/
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 16:40   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

You can rebuild it yourself. DMI use to sell kit to replace wind speed sensor. To get directional vane working you need new “motor” servo transmitter 11tx-300-b-100d 400Hz made by Harowe servo controls. Its quite hard to find these days. Any other servo with rotor (input) 1 phase 26v,
stator (output) 3phase 11.8 v will work but it might have shaft that is too short to put the vane on. Here is one from Kearfott but it needs some sort of shaft modification/extension Kearfott R510 1A Synchro Control Transmitter 400Hz | eBay
__________________
125Miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:12   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Is there another unit that sends out the same output that I could just swap for the broken one?
__________________
Voyage of Symbiosis: http://svsymbiosis.blogspot.com/
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:42   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Just a tip about a workshop that fixed my 30 years old mast head unit a couple of months ago:

Tinley Marine Electronics Service

Good service and very professional.
__________________
grawis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 12:05   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 612
Images: 6
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

Great info Miles!.
So sneuman, is direction not displaying anything, or its not aligned? If you take that vane off and not put it in the exact same position you will not be getting correct wind angle. You need to re-calibrate it using that little screw opening on the main unit.

In my case, I had a faulty connector at the top of the mast. My wind speed stoped working and it was the connector terminal. I had rebuild my masthead unit with DMI kit, around 100$ or so. Then things worked for a season. then wind speed stopped. I took the masthead down and attached it directly to the back of the main unit terminals by making small jumper wires. That worked. Then I went back up the mast and re-attached everything. That worked for about a month, and then wind speed stopped working.
I got spare stuff on ebay.
I am going up this weekend. That connector has caused me enough grief that I am tempted to just cut both ends and crimp/heat shrink all the wires.
__________________
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 13:06   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

First the speed was not working. I bought the rebuild kit and replaced the potentiometer, or whatever it's called, and it was working - although there seems to be considerably more friction in the mechanical part of the system now, so it underreads. The directional was working fine until this fix, now it doesn't work anymore.

My main thing is that I am sick of going up the 60' mast. If I took it down to re-evaluate it, I'd have to go up twice. Once to retrieve it and once to put it back up. If it doesn't work then, it would be a third trip. I'd like to make one more trip up, swap this unit of a working unit and be done with it once and for all!
__________________
Voyage of Symbiosis: http://svsymbiosis.blogspot.com/
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 14:31   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 612
Images: 6
Re: Replacing masthead unit for Datamarine Wind instrument

That's why they call them boats, they break and require a lot of attention. They require more attention and patience then anyone i've ever dated.
Unless you run the new mast cable, and replace the mast head unit, you will not be guaranteed that you have 1 trip left.
Regarding the friction stuff, you should have lubed that to make sure its spinning freely. I didn't have that friction problem. You should have also calibrated the wind direction prior to going up there.
For your one last trip, here is what i would do...
If you find a "new" masthead unit, hook it up to the main unit in the cabin and make sure you read 0 wind angle when wind vane is pointed forward. And forward would be in the direction of the masthead unit's arm. Spin the wind speed sensor and make sure you get wind speed reading.
If you don't find the "new" masthead unit, you need to calibrate wind direction aloft. Keep masthead direction vane pointing forward as straight as you can, while someone downstairs adjusts the wind direction screw on the main unit to show 0 degrees. You'll never get it to 0, but +/- 5 would be a success. And that screw is difficult to work with. Its not intuitive, you don't just turn and increase or decrease the degrees reading. There is a significant delay from when you turn until the degrees displayed settles to a value. To get a feel for what you're doing you need the wind vane to not move. I dont remember if you can really clibrate the entire +/-180 degrees. If not, you might have to take the wind vane off, and rotate it without rotating the servo.
This guy has a good writeup and pics...
Wind Speed Indicator Repair

Let me know if you run out of patience, I'll gladly buy your masthead unit from you.
__________________

__________________
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.