Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-11-2018, 11:26   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Seattle
Boat: 1978 Hunter Cherubini 33
Posts: 2
replace or duplicate transducer

Hi! Long time lurker, first time poster.

I am adding a Garmin GPS to my old boat that currently has a working depth sounder with a thru hull transducer. I bought an in-hull transducer with the new system, but it occurs to me that I could replace the old transducer with a new thru hull for the GPS and reap the benefits of thru-hull vs in-hull without having to put another hole in the hull. (This would obviously disable the Standard Horizon depth sounder I currently have.)

On the other hand, I'm a proponent of redundancy with those sort of things so I'm tempted to go with having both.

Thoughts?

Steve
__________________

blooztune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2018, 11:54   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: 1979 Cape Dory 30 Cutter
Posts: 138
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

If the in-hull and thru-hull operate at the same frequency they will affect each others signal. Likely making them both useless if operated at the same time.

It is my opinion that the depth finder should be a dedicated system, independent of other electronics. -Feel free to devise your own opinion.

If you want to use the sounder features of the Garmin and keep the Standard depth finder, install the in-hull transducer and turn off your depth finder while using the sounder.

The Standard Horizon depth finder is a highly reliable tough piece of equipment. I have a feeling it will outlast your Garmin.

Ultimately, depth is depth; do whatever you want.
__________________

J.Kitchens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2018, 12:13   #3
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 10,952
Images: 14
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Rather than use a through hull, how about using one of the shoot through Garmin transducers? Test it by putting it in a plastic bag full of water and place inside the hull.

We have a Ray ST60 near the mast and a Garmin transducer towards the stern which operate on different frequencies so both play together without problems. The later Garmin's have dual frequencies which might help if there is a problem.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2018, 12:19   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: 1979 Cape Dory 30 Cutter
Posts: 138
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Rather than use a through hull, how about using one of the shoot through Garmin transducers?
I think that is what he means by in-hull.


It would help if we knew what transducers you have.
J.Kitchens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2018, 12:42   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Seattle
Boat: 1978 Hunter Cherubini 33
Posts: 2
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Kitchens View Post
I think that is what he means by in-hull.


It would help if we knew what transducers you have.
Yes, that's what I meant. And that's an excellent point about possible frequency clash.

The in-hull (new) transducer is an Airmar P79 That shows
Frequency: 50/200kHz-A

I'm not sure about the Standard Horizon. Researching now.
blooztune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2018, 12:50   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: 1979 Cape Dory 30 Cutter
Posts: 138
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

The Standard Horizon is most likely 200kHz. There should be a tag on the display end of the transducer cable.
J.Kitchens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2018, 12:09   #7
Registered User
 
Dooglas's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon City, OR
Boat: 37 Uniflite Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 351
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

I replaced a transducer recently and took the opportunity to upgrade to the current CHIRP technology. It is so far superior to the older 200/50 kHz systems that I am certainly not looking back. If your new Garmin system is CHIRP compatible, be sure you fit a CHIRP transducer. If you want a backup sonar readout, the Garmin Strykers are CHIRP compatible and very cost effective.
Dooglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 07:08   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tarpon Springs fl
Boat: Morgan 384/ 1982
Posts: 286
Images: 3
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

There are just 2 Frequency of transducers both are airmar who make 99 % of all transducers. If you use a Garmin installer, he has a black box the size of a package of cigarettes and that changes your old transducer to the other frequency !
I have such a device on my boat with the Garman 741 which is nema with that depth sounder . Garmin installers say a black box comes with every unit the order . ! Im not sure you can buy the box separately !
stnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 08:11   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by stnick View Post
There are just 2 Frequency of transducers both are airmar who make 99 % of all transducers. If you use a Garmin installer, he has a black box the size of a package of cigarettes and that changes your old transducer to the other frequency !
I have such a device on my boat with the Garman 741 which is nema with that depth sounder . Garmin installers say a black box comes with every unit the order . ! Im not sure you can buy the box separately !
WRONG!

1. There is no magic frequency changing box.

2. Transducer frequencies I can think of off the top of my head (there are more):
50kHz, 77kHz, 150kHz, 170kHz, 200kHz, 235kHz

3. If the magic box comes with every order why do you have to use a Garmin installer?

4. If Garmin made a magic frequency changing box (which would in fact have to be magic) I think they would sell it instead of giving it away.
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 12:54   #10
Registered User
 
Dooglas's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon City, OR
Boat: 37 Uniflite Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 351
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by stnick View Post
There are just 2 Frequency of transducers both are airmar who make 99 % of all transducers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeelMe View Post
Transducer frequencies I can think of off the top of my head (there are more): 50kHz, 77kHz, 150kHz, 170kHz, 200kHz, 235kHz
KeelMe is coming closer to the truth, but both of you are overlooking CHIRP technology scanning sonar which uses ascending frequency range transmissions. This is a game changer in terms of penetration and resolution which is now becoming readily available for recreational boaters. And, yes, Airmar makes CHIRP transducers.

Here is a good description of the technology by West Marine - https://www.westmarine.com/WestAdvis...Scanning-Sonar
Dooglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 13:19   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: 1979 Cape Dory 30 Cutter
Posts: 138
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

KeelMe is actually in the process of writing a book about transducers. I seriously doubt he overlooked anything.
J.Kitchens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 13:19   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

I assure you I have not overlooked anything. Other than your comments, CHIRP transducers have had no part in the conversation.

As far as I can tell from the original post the OP is interested in depth sounding not fish finding. 50/200kHz is just about the best depth transducer you can get.

For the record I agree CHIRP is the best for a fishfinder.
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 13:20   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Kitchens View Post
KeelMe is actually in the process of writing a book about transducers. I seriously doubt he overlooked anything.
It's not a book. It will be a very detailed interactive guide.
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 13:34   #14
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 10,952
Images: 14
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Slight thread drift, but let us know when you publish, I for one would be interesting in reading.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 14:25   #15
Registered User
 
Dooglas's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon City, OR
Boat: 37 Uniflite Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 351
Re: replace or duplicate transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeelMe View Post
For the record I agree CHIRP is the best for a fishfinder.
I don't understand why ANY discussion of sonar technology for recreational boats would leave out CHIRP capability. And for the record, I seldom use CHIRP scanning for fishfinding. I use it because it gives me the best returns on soft bottoms and the most detail/resolution of bottom contours. My CHIRP system replaced a 50/200 kHz system and has been a welcome upgrade. My current transducer (and most Airmar CHIRP capable transducers) are also capable of operating in conventional fixed frequency modes so an operator doesn't give up anything by going this direction.
__________________

Dooglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speed transducer replace SqPeg Monohull Sailboats 0 22-02-2017 19:16
How to replace transducer without sinking Caleb C General Sailing Forum 40 09-07-2016 15:18
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 06:23
Replace depth transducer cored hull - r&r thru with in hull? rpeebles Marine Electronics 5 11-04-2012 12:58
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.