Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-05-2013, 08:55   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grenada
Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
Posts: 927
Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

I have a ST4000 autopilot on the boat and I have gotten it to work great. Is it possible to hook up a remote to this autopilot? I believe it does use SeaTalk communications. If so, what remote would work, I was just looking at the S100 but it did not state what units it is compatible with. thanks
__________________

__________________
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 09:24   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,172
Images: 15
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

I have a remote that goes with my st4000. I haven't used it but it appears to be a long cord that plugs in somewhere
__________________

__________________
tamicatana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 09:31   #3
F51
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 235
Images: 5
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

I am also interested in exploring this topic. I have a ST6000 with the X5 core pack. My remote has never worked, and I don't know how to troubleshoot. Raymarine documentation is not helpful in this area.
__________________
F51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 10:11   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grenada
Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
Posts: 927
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

By remote I am thinking of wireless. I was just on a boat that had a newer system and it was great having the wireless capibility.
__________________
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 10:39   #5
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 582
Images: 4
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

Raymarine does make two wireless remote controllers that should work with a SeaTalk AP. They used to make a wired remote controller (ST600R), but that has been discontinued is no longer repairable by Raymarine.
I have a wireless remote controller, which runs off internal/re-chargeable batteries. It will generally run for more than 24 hours before needing a re-charge.
These remotes are expensive so I would check with Raymarine before investing in one. Best source of info would be the Raymarine Forum.

John
__________________
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 10:49   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
tartansail's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tiverton, RI, USA
Boat: ex-Tartan 40
Posts: 614
Images: 1
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

We have the S100 with a wheel pilot. However, I think the control head is newer than the ST4000. It is using Seatalk, but I don't know how it accesses the Seatalk network since it came with the boat when we bought it.

If it turns out that you can connect it, go for it. It is great leaning back against the mast looking up at the genoa while driving.
__________________
- David
S/V Sapphire Tartan 40 #71

tartansail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 11:15   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mystic
Boat: Sabre 38 mkII
Posts: 261
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

there is a transmitter somewhere plugged into the seatalk network.. in my case its in the back of the radar at the nav station and behind the panel..line of sight is not needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tartansail View Post
We have the S100 with a wheel pilot. However, I think the control head is newer than the ST4000. It is using Seatalk, but I don't know how it accesses the Seatalk network since it came with the boat when we bought it.

If it turns out that you can connect it, go for it. It is great leaning back against the mast looking up at the genoa while driving.
__________________
Mystic38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:10   #8
Registered User
 
Tymadman's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Boat: Farr 6000
Posts: 113
Try searching this forum for wireless remote control ;-)
__________________
Cheers,

Neil
http://www.madmanmarine.com
Tymadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 23:32   #9
Registered User
 
Tomm0's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, australia
Boat: Joubert Koala 24
Posts: 114
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

I've looked at getting a remote for mine, but they're more like $400, not $100. You can get them on ebay - search raymarine remote.
__________________
Tomm0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:09   #10
Registered User
 
Tomm0's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, australia
Boat: Joubert Koala 24
Posts: 114
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

raymarine remote | eBay

Or to be specific:

Raymarine S100 Wireless SeaTalk Autopilot Remote Control E15024
$400 plus postage.

Raymarine S100 Wireless Seatalk Autopilot Remote Control E15024 | eBay
__________________
Tomm0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:40   #11
Registered User
 
Tymadman's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Boat: Farr 6000
Posts: 113
I make wireless remote controls at a reasonable price. Feel free to contact me for more info.

Cheers,
Neil.
__________________
Cheers,

Neil
http://www.madmanmarine.com
Tymadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 04:40   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Boat: Farr37 - Southern Cross
Posts: 80
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tymadman View Post
I make wireless remote controls at a reasonable price. Feel free to contact me for more info.

Cheers,
Neil.
I recently purchased on of your remotes... Happy to share my experience with it..

Very well priced - say 50% cheaper than the raymarine equivalent. Easy installation, connecting straight into the Seatalk Network. Comes with 2 (yes 2) key fob type remotes. Easy to understand insallation instructions.

Performs all the basic functions (auto, standby, +-1 +-10 as well as engaging app wind mode - with others to come? eg track mode?).

Mine is hooked up to a ST4000+ wheel pilot, with NMEA for wind data from the B&G. Will also would work with other seatalk pilots I imagine.

Very happy with the purchase. Check out the website here Home - Madman Marine Electronics

No connection - just a happy customer..
__________________
Spirit28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 03:17   #13
Registered User
 
Tymadman's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Boat: Farr 6000
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit28 View Post

I recently purchased on of your remotes... Happy to share my experience with it..

Very well priced - say 50% cheaper than the raymarine equivalent. Easy installation, connecting straight into the Seatalk Network. Comes with 2 (yes 2) key fob type remotes. Easy to understand insallation instructions.

Performs all the basic functions (auto, standby, +-1 +-10 as well as engaging app wind mode - with others to come? eg track mode?).

Mine is hooked up to a ST4000+ wheel pilot, with NMEA for wind data from the B&G. Will also would work with other seatalk pilots I imagine.

Very happy with the purchase. Check out the website here Home - Madman Marine Electronics

No connection - just a happy customer..

Thanks Spirit28,

It's nice to have good feedback!
__________________
Cheers,

Neil
http://www.madmanmarine.com
Tymadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 14:09   #14
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grenada
Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
Posts: 927
Re: Remote Raymarine Auto Pilot

I purchased the following Remote Auto Pilot
http://www.madmanmarine.com

Installed when I got back to Grenada. I had no problems installing and will be testing it this week. I will let you know how I like it.

I also had no problems on the shiooing or payment.
__________________
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 15:00   #15
Registered User
 
Tymadman's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Boat: Farr 6000
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by landonshaw View Post
I purchased the following Remote Auto Pilot
http://www.madmanmarine.com

Installed when I got back to Grenada. I had no problems installing and will be testing it this week. I will let you know how I like it.

I also had no problems on the shiooing or payment.
Glad to hear you've arrived home safely and that the installation was no problem - mind you, with only 3 wires and 2 screws to deal with it's a straight forward process isn't it?

Let me know if you have any problems.
__________________

__________________
Cheers,

Neil
http://www.madmanmarine.com
Tymadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine, remote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.