Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 10:44   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW BC Canada
Boat: Dufour35 1982
Posts: 779
Images: 5
Real time Question AT 130 tuner

Hi gang

As we speak :-) I am wiring my tuner up today. Radio is an Icom M710.

The Tunner AT-130 unit is used. It came with a small piece of the control cable attached. The sheath of the cable has been braided back and attached to the ground lug.

I am using the Kiss CP system. Do I do the same?

Cheers
__________________

__________________
www.SouthPacificEngagement.com
NorthPacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 13:22   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

I have installed a lot of the 710 and 802 Icoms. In discussions early on with Icom techs that at that time knew the radios, it was the general consensus that the ground not be attached on the tuner wire either to the radio or tuner. On the 802 and 140 it's a separate green wire. I have never attached the ground on the 710 or 802 and they all seem to work just fine. According to Icom, attaching the ground actually creates more RF. We have the KISS installed on Beach House. Chuck
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 14:30   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW BC Canada
Boat: Dufour35 1982
Posts: 779
Images: 5
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

I appreciate that!.
__________________
www.SouthPacificEngagement.com
NorthPacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 14:57   #4
Registered User
 
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 510
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

On my setup I connected the braid(shield to ground at the tuner end only.
The tuner is connected to ships ground with its own copper foil.
The radio is separately connected to ships ground with its own foil.
If you connect that braid to ground at the radio AND the tuner you will create a ground loop which will creat noise.
Grounding the braid at one end only preserves the shileding effect for the control signal wires in the cable but avoids a ground loop.
__________________
See you out there ....... Alan S.V. Elyse
now http://svelyse.weebly.com
older http://voyagesofDIVA.weebly.com
Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 21:40   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW BC Canada
Boat: Dufour35 1982
Posts: 779
Images: 5
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

Thanks Albro.

Well I fixed everything together. Tuner responds to the changing of channels but just get static. Can not hear anything or anybody?

Not sure of next step?
__________________
www.SouthPacificEngagement.com
NorthPacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 21:53   #6
Registered User
 
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 510
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

Are you sure the AT-130 is setup properly, the relays will still chatter when you press the tune button on the 710, but there are some switches inside the AT-130 that need to be in the right positions for it all to work...they are detailed in the manual.

Next, what frequencies are you listening to ?
WWV broadcasts continuously on 5, 10 and 15 MHz with time pips...you should be able to hear them....better at night usually.

Cheers
Alan
__________________
See you out there ....... Alan S.V. Elyse
now http://svelyse.weebly.com
older http://voyagesofDIVA.weebly.com
Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 09:24   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW BC Canada
Boat: Dufour35 1982
Posts: 779
Images: 5
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

THANKS ALAN,

I am a weekend warrior at the moment. I started this thread because of all those dip switches. )-: The At130 manual is not very clear. All are in the off position with one exception. I will start on 5 10 14 MHz.

The previous owner had BBC Vof A and CBC saved and could get nothing.

Cheers Steve
__________________
www.SouthPacificEngagement.com
NorthPacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 15:21   #8
Registered User
 
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 510
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

Steve,
Is switch S1 in the NORMAL position ?
The DIP switches are the settings for the fast tuning..P5 on the user manual tells how to set them up.....but its not necessary.
The Service manual in the setup routines says all switches ON except S4-7 OFF.
Maybe you could try that and see what happens.....

Cheers
Alan
__________________
See you out there ....... Alan S.V. Elyse
now http://svelyse.weebly.com
older http://voyagesofDIVA.weebly.com
Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 20:52   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW BC Canada
Boat: Dufour35 1982
Posts: 779
Images: 5
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

"รสส กี กฟท ะ้ำ ทพห ไฟหหไระแ้ำก ะน ธ้ฟร

Mrs swtched to Thai. Cheers will have a goon Sat morning.

Steve
__________________
www.SouthPacificEngagement.com
NorthPacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 21:19   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

Quote:
"รสส กี กฟท ะ้ำ ทพห ไฟหหไระแ้ำก ะน ธ้ฟร

Mrs swtched to Thai. Cheers will have a goon Sat morning.
What is that?
__________________
The Blue Dot Campaign. This Changes Everything.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 00:17   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW BC Canada
Boat: Dufour35 1982
Posts: 779
Images: 5
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

Thailand! You can convert the keyboard to Thai. I hunt and peck so it was written before I saw it.

ธ้ฟรสฟืก ธ้ฟร No idea what it says! Mrs is Thai. Like Thai food check the blog out! She is a high so chef. Sort of lost on a potato and meat guy like myself.:-)
__________________
www.SouthPacificEngagement.com
NorthPacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:33   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 718
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

I wouldn't bother with the preset function. I'm a service tech and can tell you that it is only used if the tuner internal switch is in the "preset" position. I know the manual says for fast tune up, the preset switch information is used when the switch is in "normal" position, but that isn't the case. Icom manuals are the worst, I'm always finding errors in them. Iv'e had lots of these tuners on the bench for repairs and have tried to figure out this preset function and have only seen it work when set to "preset". The AT-140 also has the dip switches but there is no mention of them in the operator manual. I have never come across a tuner in use with the dip switches set to anything but "off". Doesn't really matter what they are set to since they are not used unless the switch is in the "preset" position.

Eric
__________________
fairbank56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 10:00   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW BC Canada
Boat: Dufour35 1982
Posts: 779
Images: 5
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

OK that is good to know. The switch is in the normal position, so it does not matter what the dip switches are set at?
__________________
www.SouthPacificEngagement.com
NorthPacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 18:11   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 718
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

Yes, that is correct.

Eric
__________________
fairbank56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 17:28   #15
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,033
Re: Real time Question AT 130 tuner

North Pacific,
Most HF radio users on-board cruising boats, including those installing/updating older/used equipment, find they have NO problem with the equipment, but rather they are simply unfamiliar with how it works, what it sounds like, and where to find what signals/stations....


If you are new to HF radio and/or Marine HF, then you may have one, two, three or all four of the main causes of "can't hear it is"....
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthPacific View Post
Tuner responds to the changing of channels but just get static. Can not hear anything or anybody?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthPacific View Post
The previous owner had BBC Vof A and CBC saved and could get nothing.
{FYI, the CBC shortwave/HF broadcasts are NO longer on-the-air.....further, neither the VOA, nor BBC, beams signals TO the US, and they've cut back significantly on many broadcasts that they still do transmit (such as those beamed to 3rd world nations), etc....so most of their broadcasts are not too strong here in the US.....heck the BBC doesn't even beam any shortwave/HF signals to N. Amer, Cent. Amer, S. Amer, Caribbean, etc. at all....}



The four main "causes" of can't hear it is are:
a) unfamiliarity with what HF radio comms sound like...
b) unfamiliarity with radiowave propagation and/or what freqs to use, when...
c) unfamiliarity with what is actually there on the air to receive, and at what time and frequency to tune to...
d) significant radio noise / Radio Frequency Interference (RFI), on-board and/or in your local area, marina, yacht club, etc...


Here are some links to other recent discussions where RFI, what signals are actually there which you can hear, and what/how you should be listening for...

ssb freqs

New SSB Installation

SSB Reception

SSCA Forum • View topic - Testing a SSB/Ham radio - poor reception

SSCA Forum • View topic - SERIOUS HAM SSB SETUP ON THE CHEAP


There are more threads/posts where you can find lots of great info...but perhaps after reading the above threads, if you have further questions, just ask as direct/detailed question you can, with as much detailed/specific info you can, in a new thread....


I hope this helps...

Fair winds..

John
s/v Annie Laurie
__________________

__________________
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.