Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2015, 07:11   #1
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Raymarine windspeed stopped working

Hi. Our windspeed has stopped working, showing 0 knots for the second time. The boat/unit is less than a year old. (Lagoon400)
Last time, a few months ago, we had a tech take a look and he replaced a small connecting wire at the top of the mast and it worked fine. He told us it's a common problem and it won't happen again. I guess he applied some anti corrosive and wrapped up the connection tight. I've heard these can get corroded and cause problems.
So I guess it's up the mast for me. I just wanted to check the process and tools required before heading up. Would the wire go into the mast through a cap to be removed with a small screwdriver. Untape the connection, maybe take a small knife to cut away tape. Pull apart and reconnect a few times to get a good connection, check of problem solved. Retape and refit.
Is it good to spray connections like this with crc or similar or will the crc allow current to flow between the poles? I also have some of this onboard. Is it for this type of application?
Thanks in advance, hopefully saving an extra trip up and down
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1428412252.385895.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	100087
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 13:19   #2
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: Raymarine windspeed stopped working

Well thanks for the slow responses. It's started working again after a few days r&r so no need to go up the mast for now
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max Windspeed You Would Put to Sea in ? MarkJ Seamanship & Boat Handling 27 23-11-2010 22:01
HELP! My Toilet Pump Stopped Working lorenzo b Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 10 22-02-2010 07:28
Windvane / Windspeed Indicator stephenronning Monohull Sailboats 6 10-01-2010 19:00
Need to Replace Round Windspeed Instrument SV SolMate Navigation 3 25-09-2009 15:56



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.