Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2017, 04:59   #1
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 25,627
Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

I'm still trying to get my ST60 wind instrument hooked into my N2K network.

There are a few good ways to do it, including the Raymarine ST to STng adapter.

I just noticed that the ST70+ -- a very nice looking MFD -- is being sold at bargain prices. I guess it has been superseded.

This instrument can be connected to BOTH SeaTalk and N2K networks.

I wonder if it BRIDGES data received on SeaTalk, to N2K (that is, to SeaTalk ng)?

If it does, then that might be a nice solution for me.

If it does, the only drawback I guess is that it will not (right?) drive the masthead instrument; I still need the ST60 wind instrument there, and I take the SeaTalk 1 data from there.

But even that might be OK. I was planning to install the ST60 wind instrument at the nav table anyway; I could replace a Triton with the ST70+.

Anyone know the answer to this?
__________________

Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 05:26   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saint Thomas, USVI
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lipari 41
Posts: 303
Re: Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

You will need an ITC-5 from Raymarine to convert the analog signal from your wind instrument to NEMA 200.

Raymarine iTC-5 Instrument Transducer Converter

You will also need a NG to 2000 cable.
__________________

captainjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 05:31   #3
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 25,627
Re: Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainjay View Post
You will need an ITC-5 from Raymarine to convert the analog signal from your wind instrument to NEMA 200.

Raymarine iTC-5 Instrument Transducer Converter

You will also need a NG to 2000 cable.
Thanks.

At $250, though, the ITC-5 kind of defeats the purpose.

I can just use my existing ST60 instrument to convert the transducer signal to SeaTalk can't I?

And then the $64 question -- will the ST70+ bridge this data onto the N2K network?
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:12   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saint Thomas, USVI
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lipari 41
Posts: 303
Re: Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Thanks.

At $250, though, the ITC-5 kind of defeats the purpose.

I can just use my existing ST60 instrument to convert the transducer signal to SeaTalk can't I?

And then the $64 question -- will the ST70+ bridge this data onto the N2K network?

No I do not believe it will. I just installed an Axiom plotter on a five year old system. I used the converter from seatalk to seatalk NG and the plotter which is nema 2000 can not see any of the data. I have to install an ITC-5 to make it work.

Jay
captainjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:17   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: West Virginia
Boat: Cape Dory, Cutter,30
Posts: 134
Re: Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

installed one of these for a customer to adapt a "Clipper" wind machine to a B&G NMEA2000 network. Works fine:

http://www.imarineusa.com/actisensen...83gateway.aspx
moctrams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 12:50   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saint Thomas, USVI
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lipari 41
Posts: 303
Re: Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

Quote:
Originally Posted by moctrams View Post
installed one of these for a customer to adapt a "Clipper" wind machine to a B&G NMEA2000 network. Works fine:

http://www.imarineusa.com/actisensen...83gateway.aspx
The problem is that the raymarine wind instrument is a proprietary analog signal. Their box converts it to Nema 2000 but uses their plug Sea Talk NG. They make a simple converter cable that goes from NG to Seatalk2000.
captainjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 15:02   #7
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 25,627
Re: Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

Quote:
Originally Posted by moctrams View Post
installed one of these for a customer to adapt a "Clipper" wind machine to a B&G NMEA2000 network. Works fine:

http://www.imarineusa.com/actisensen...83gateway.aspx
SeaTalk1 is not the same as 0183. That's the problem.
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 04:28   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saint Thomas, USVI
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Lipari 41
Posts: 303
Re: Raymarine ST70+ -- Data Bridging

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainjay View Post
No I do not believe it will. I just installed an Axiom plotter on a five year old system. I used the converter from seatalk to seatalk NG and the plotter which is nema 2000 can not see any of the data. I have to install an ITC-5 to make it work.

Jay
New info on this Raymarine is telling me that the seatalk to seatalk ng converter will put out the nema data. I have to update the software on the one that was installed on this boat. I will let you know how that works out.
__________________

captainjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot read Raymarine ST70 wind transducer pod data from B&G MFD mbartosch Marine Electronics 19 23-06-2016 15:41
Reefer Insulation and Thermal Bridging jpendoley Construction, Maintenance & Refit 17 24-04-2016 04:20
Help with Bridging the iMuxST with a mobile hotspot Brown7477 OpenCPN 0 01-10-2015 11:39
Bridging Heat Pump Across Two Circuits prroots Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 14 21-08-2011 06:58
Raymarine ST60 v ST70 hoppy Marine Electronics 3 11-07-2011 10:56

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.