Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2014, 07:56   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Hi All,

I have a Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot which was working fine until this week.

Here are the symptoms and my efforts to trace the problem - without success!

I can turn on the Autopilot ok and it goes into normal Standby mode.

When I press the red AUTO button, I get an onscreen message "NO DATA" and underneath, I can see the rudder angle display. I am therefore presuming the problem is with the rudder angle device. I removed the arm and checked the wiring, also opening it up and looking inside where I find 3 wires, red, blue, green. This unit was new a year ago and shows no signs of corrosion or burn out.

Can anyone thow any light on the problem and/or offer any advise on how to test/repair it?

As a single hander, I depend on my autopilot which is a linear drive model)

I also have Raymarine instruments which are all interconnected. they are ST60's.

Many thanks,

Jon Constantine - s/y Imagine Of Falmouth (Antigua).
__________________

__________________
Jon Constantine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 08:34   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Surrey, BC
Boat: Valiant 40-169
Posts: 175
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

In my experience "no data" shows up when you tell the autopilot to go to a waypoint but the gps is not sending the waypoint data. I don't know if the rudder symbol actually means no rudder data. Your best bet is to contact Raymarine USA through their technical support forum.
__________________

__________________
gordwedman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 08:40   #3
Registered User
 
Tortuga's Lie's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia
Boat: Tartan 4100
Posts: 384
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

The rudder angle sensor is for feedback to the unit and I do not think the autopilot relies on this to function. To me it sounds like a connection issue with the fluxgate compass and/or the computer-control head.
__________________
Tortuga's Lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 09:53   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

If it's not the rudder sensor, does anyone have any suggestions how I can test the unit to find out what is wrong?
__________________
Jon Constantine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:21   #5
Registered User
 
the_alpine's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: st petersburg, fl
Boat: O'Day 302
Posts: 263
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Tortuga is right. It's a computer or flux gate or wind instrument issue.
__________________
the_alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:46   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Any ideas on testing?
__________________
Jon Constantine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:52   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

The wind instrument seems to be working fine. Maybe then I need to look at the fluxgate compass but not sure where to find it. I guess it maybe a case of following the wire but even so, I still need some info on how to test the connections if anyone can help I would much appreciate it.

Jon
__________________
Jon Constantine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:57   #8
Registered User
 
the_alpine's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: st petersburg, fl
Boat: O'Day 302
Posts: 263
Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Did you check that the computer is receiving power?

Actually, it should be since your control head is powering up.

Have you tried setting it to auto in wind mode(pressing AUTO and STANDBY together)?
__________________
the_alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 11:19   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Yes, the computer has power ok. I also checked the 3 fuses - all ok there. I just tried pushing AUTO and STANDBY together but just get the same NO DATA message.

I notice that in STANDBY mode the heading is shown as 248 M when infact, I am at anchor and pointing 90 M. Could that be an indication that its the fluxgate compass and if so any ideas on how to test it?

Jon
__________________
Jon Constantine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 12:23   #10
Registered User
 
the_alpine's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: st petersburg, fl
Boat: O'Day 302
Posts: 263
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Test procedure:
http://www.raymarine.co.uk/knowledge....cfm?view=3798
__________________
the_alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 08:36   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Yes, the computer unit is receiving power ok. I checked the 3 fuses as well. They are ok. I tried pressing STANDBY and AUTO together but get the same "beeping"
__________________
Jon Constantine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 09:00   #12
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,033
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

NO DATA means the control unit is not receiving data from the course computer. It isn't a message about flux gate or rudder sensor. If the course computer is powered then it is either the wiring from the computer to the control head or the computer isn't running.
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 10:24   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Thanks Transmitterdan, I will check the wiring from the course computer to the instrument display in the cockpit.

Is there any reading I can get using a voltmeter at the instrument?

Jon
__________________
Jon Constantine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 11:34   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Port Welshpool Australia
Boat: sold swan new cat under construction / Canados 50s
Posts: 755
Images: 16
Send a message via Skype™ to beneteau-500
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

It's your flux gate causing the problem go to your course computer you will see the wires connected there as you said you don't know where flux gate is then trace wires back the flux gate has either failed or suffering magnetic interference most likely you have place a metal object next to it and is causing interference You may have to also do 2x 360 turns at about 3 knots to re calibrate it
__________________
beneteau-500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2014, 20:12   #15
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,033
Re: Raymarine ST6001 Autopilot - NO DATA error

Jon,

If the head unit displays various rudder angles the the course computer is booted and running.
__________________

__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: ST6001 main unit (core) Sailboatuser Classifieds Archive 1 16-06-2013 05:19
Raymarine ST6001 Display Fading FraidNot Marine Electronics 10 15-10-2012 14:51
Raymarine ST6001 Malfunction baggin Marine Electronics 2 25-06-2012 14:30
ST6001+ Gives NO PILOT and / or STLK FAIL dubhouse Marine Electronics 3 11-08-2010 23:06
ST6001+ Beeps Every 30 Seconds in Wind Vane Mode dubhouse Marine Electronics 1 12-05-2010 22:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.