Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2017, 20:31   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 697
Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

The pointer on the display stopped moving and points down --the windspeed function on display still is working. I checked and cleaned the seatalk cable plugs in back of display. What to do next?? Help! (thanks)..
__________________

geoleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 06:10   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
jefndeb's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Boat: Oday 28
Posts: 307
Images: 4
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

See this document for instructions
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ST 60 Wind Tests.pdf (87.4 KB, 279 views)
__________________

jefndeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 07:14   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 697
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jefndeb View Post
See this document for instructions
Thanks! I will do it.
geoleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 08:27   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SF Bay Area (Boat in La Paz)
Boat: Valiant V40
Posts: 590
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Frequently, there is a splice or connection in the masthead cable at or near the bottom of the mast. Don't forget to check those connections.

Also, I find I have to do a factory reset somewhat frequently on my unit.
jamhass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 08:11   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Boat: Catalina 375
Posts: 112
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Did you think of spider webs. Happened to me a few times. What is more often the case, I lose my true speed but have apparent speed. If not spiders it is always a connection in my case.
Ardbeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 08:16   #6
Registered User
 
KadeyKrogen38's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Clear Lake, TX
Boat: Kadey Krogen 38
Posts: 138
Images: 1
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Good luck getting your instrument to work. I recently sent mine in for repair and was told that Raymarine no longer supports these units.

I complained about planned obsolescence, and was promptly told that I had enjoyed 12 years of use. So much for sympathy or support from Raymarine.
KadeyKrogen38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 08:22   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Cary, NC
Boat: Newport 28II, 28'
Posts: 38
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Using binoculars, check the mast head unit for any possible damage or matter that may be fouling the directional vane. Once I discovered an osprey had been using my mast head as his lunch counter and part of the unit was broken. Another time something had been caught in the unit preventing the vane from rotating.
Over Budget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 08:53   #8
mnh
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buffalo,NY
Boat: Hinckley Custom 45 ft. yawl
Posts: 44
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Same thing happened to me after about 10 years. After checking everything, i had to order a new Wind Vane from Raymarine. "Screw off/Screw" on thing at the mast truck. Required a 10 min trip up the mast. Works fine now. I sent the old one in to Raymarine, and they "repaired"it for $250, which I now use as a spare...mnh
mnh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 09:18   #9
Registered User
 
FlyTheCoop's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Greece
Boat: FP Helia 44 Evo
Posts: 42
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Happened to me too. Wind vane came off in high winds. Replaced it and all good now.
FlyTheCoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 09:20   #10
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virgin Islands
Boat: 1999 Leopard 45, 45 foot cat, 1980 Hunter 33, 33 foot monohull
Posts: 831
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ardbeg View Post
Did you think of spider webs. Happened to me a few times. What is more often the case, I lose my true speed but have apparent speed. If not spiders it is always a connection in my case.
If you lose your true wind speed and direction, you may have lost connection with whatever is giving you boat speed. When boat speed registers zero, apparent wind and true wind will be the same.
contrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 12:14   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cruising full time in Panama
Boat: Irwin, custom Sloop, 45
Posts: 27
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Ours did the same and when i looked up to the instrument atop the mast, the portion of the vane that points into the wind was gone. The anemometer cups still spun, thus giving wind speed. You can purchase replacement ST-60 instrument parts (vane) from Defender for about $50.00. Cheers
NirvanaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2017, 14:52   #12
Registered User
 
JasonS's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lighthouse Point, FL
Boat: Manta 40
Posts: 96
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

The electronics in the wind vane go bad. We had two go bad (our original plus one that was only a bit over 2 years old). Raymarine offers a FIXED repair price that includes return shipping at $155 each. Just go on the Raymarine website for info. I'm going up our mast when it cools down a bit tonight to reinstall! Good luck!
JasonS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2017, 02:33   #13
Registered User
 
FionaJC's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast UK
Boat: Colvic 40' Ketch
Posts: 213
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoleo View Post
The pointer on the display stopped moving and points down --the windspeed function on display still is working. I checked and cleaned the seatalk cable plugs in back of display. What to do next?? Help! (thanks)..
We had a similar problem with a unit from NASA Marine instruments. We removed the head sealed the cables and brought it home. We found the inside was corroded. I cleaned up the PCB and found that a Tantalum capacitor was corroded. I replaced this. I then found that a hall effect device was faulty so after a lot of hunting we found the replacement. Fitted it and checked the pulses, all was well so the head was re-fitted and has been performing admirably. The cost of the parts was about 2. Cheaoer than a new head and a faster repair than re-running cables.

No everyone will be able to do this as I am told that I am unusual - a female electronics engineer. You may be able to take it to a local electronics repair shop to save money.
FionaJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-2017, 17:02   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 697
Re: Raymarine ST60 Wind stopped working!!

OK I tested it per Raymarine Test Spec. Green pin was only 1 volt other pins within specs. What now?
__________________

geoleo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: ST60 Wind Display/ST60 Close Haul Wind Display navyguy2837 Classifieds Archive 9 24-05-2016 04:18
Want To Buy: Raymarine ST60+ Suncover; and ST60+ Wind antoha Classifieds Archive 7 04-10-2015 18:46
Raymarine windspeed stopped working monte Marine Electronics 1 10-04-2015 12:19
For Sale: Sun Covers to Suit Raymarine ST60 or ST60+ Series Instruments RJV Classifieds Archive 1 17-07-2012 23:16



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.