Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-07-2012, 05:57   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Raymarine st60 speed transducer

My Raymarine st60 speed refuses to give a reading. I've cleaned the spinning wheel and checked connections but it still doesn't work.

My thoughts is the transducer has a fault. I can't see a way of opening it. Are these things that can be serviced if I give it to a Raymarine technician or should I not bother and just order a new transducer?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
cutlass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 06:01   #2
Moderator
 
carstenb's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3
Posts: 4,940
Images: 1
Re: Raymarine st60 speed transducer

Generally, If you've cleaned the wheel and checked the wiring you will probably have to fork out for a new transducer.

When you pulled the transducer - did you get a good solid waterspout out of the hole? If not - maybe you have some seagrass clumped at the opening on the hull side that is grabbing the wheel when you reinsert it.

If you have a helper - pull the transducer and have the helper keep a good eye on the speed readout. if you spin the wheel fast enough with a finger you should get a readout
__________________

__________________
I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted - Elmore Leonard
carstenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 07:55   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Ex-Calif's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
Posts: 11,514
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutlass
My Raymarine st60 speed refuses to give a reading. I've cleaned the spinning wheel and checked connections but it still doesn't work.

My thoughts is the transducer has a fault. I can't see a way of opening it. Are these things that can be serviced if I give it to a Raymarine technician or should I not bother and just order a new transducer?

Thanks!
My ST60 screen "burned" in. I was very fortunate and quick to buy a used speed and depth setup from a member here. I have a spare transducer now as the one I purchased came with a transducer as well.

I presume the display head is turning on and displaying? I presume the transducer is out and in your hand and you are spinning the wheel manually.

There are three things that can go wrong - head, cable or transducer.

In this thread GordMay posted just about the best troubleshooting sequence for this on the net. No need for me to retype what he wrote...

Raymarine ST60 - No Speed Reading

The only question I have is his item 3 - I am not sure of the decision logic at this point. If the head reads by shorting the center to shield then the head appears to be working.

If the wheel turns but does not generate a signal (he head is confirmed good already) the transducer is bad. If at this point the wheel turns by hand and generates a signal then the water flow to the wheel may be bad (hull fouling) or the wheel resistance to turning is high and wont turn with water flow - either way potentially bad transducer.

PS - my transducer when clean will turn by blowing on it - i.e. it should turn completely freely.
__________________
Relax Lah! is For Sale <--- Click
Click--> Custom CF Google Search or CF Rules
You're gonna need a bigger boat... - Martin Brody
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 10:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Sunbeam 42
Posts: 6
Re: Raymarine st60 speed transducer

Our transducer would not read when in the water but passed all tests when out. Turned out to be eel grass forward of the thru hull fitting that tangled when the boat moved -- only visible on haul out.
__________________
472426_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2012, 19:50   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Thanks guys!

Gordmay explained it succinctly, thanks excalif

I've already pulled the transducer and spun the wheel but there's no reading. the display shows depth fine so I think this unit is ok.

I didn't know there was another connection 10ft along the cable! Hopefully that's the problem
__________________
cutlass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2012, 12:11   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Ex-Calif's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
Posts: 11,514
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutlass
Thanks guys!

Gordmay explained it succinctly, thanks excalif

I've already pulled the transducer and spun the wheel but there's no reading. the display shows depth fine so I think this unit is ok.

I didn't know there was another connection 10ft along the cable! Hopefully that's the problem
There may not be. Mine is a continuous run to the head unit. However the check out is the same for the transducer.
__________________
Relax Lah! is For Sale <--- Click
Click--> Custom CF Google Search or CF Rules
You're gonna need a bigger boat... - Martin Brody
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2012, 09:20   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,943
Re: Raymarine st60 speed transducer

The active, rotation-sensing device in the speed transducer is a Hall effect sensor, and this sensor and associated components are encapsulated ("potted") in a sort of epoxy. In other words, beyond cleaning or replacing the paddlewheel, the transducers are not serviceable.

(I know this because out of boredom, over a couple of weeks I picked away slowly at a dead transducer, and managed to expose the active device.)

As a last ditch check - there are 3 wires to the speed transducer; a ground, a positive voltage to power the sensor (between +5 and +12 v, depending on model), and one wire to carry the pulses from the sensor. If connections are correct and you can confirm the presence of the powering voltage at the transducer, then you should see pulses, using an oscilloscope or meter between the pulse out line and ground when you spin the paddlewheel. No pulses = dead transducer.
__________________

__________________
Lake-Effect is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.