Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-2009, 08:42   #1
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 8,562
Images: 14
Raymarine ST60 and Raymarine C80

We have just replaced the old instruments with a set of Raymarine ST60s speed, depth and wind. Just don't ask about the 5 trips up the mast to do the windy thingy

We also have a Raymarine C80 sat under the sprayhood as a chart plotter which may or may not get the RADAR a somepoint in the future.

Anyway is there any advantage to wiring up the ST60s to the Raymarine C80 chart plotter? what extra would it provide us?

Pete
__________________

__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2009, 09:34   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 49
Posts: 720
Images: 13
If you have the separate ST60 instruments, then the same information could be displayed on the C80. It would give you redundancy--if the instrument failed, but the transducer worked, you would still have the information on the C80.
__________________

__________________
CAELESTIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2009, 09:55   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Devon, UK
Boat: Jeanneau SO35
Posts: 10
Redundancy and one place to look but I prefer the ST60 displays. If it is easy to do on your 31 then nothing lost by doing it. Radar is very much worth adding, cross channels in 'interesting' conditions become a lot safer.
__________________
Iota

"Only Robinson Crusoe gets all his jobs done by Friday"
Iota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2009, 23:26   #4
Registered User
 
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
It most definitely is worth it, in my opinion. I hooked up my C70 to my ST50 (wind, depth, log), as well as my autopilot via SeaTalk. While I use the ST50 displays for the info in general, it's nice having the data repeated on the chartplotter. It's just two wires - yellow and black (skip the red unless you really want to link power).
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 02:59   #5
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 8,562
Images: 14
Folks thanks, good idea about being able to repeat the information for the sake of adding an additional wire incase one of the instruments dies.

Trips up the mast, well

First trip up the mast with a large screwdriver found the old Stowe wind sensor was fitted with large self tappers that had been in place for 20 years and just wouldn't move.

Second trip up the mast I was armed with an impact driver. Nope couldn't move the self tappers.

Third trip up the mast armed with an angle grinder. 30 seconds later old windy thing removed and new ST60 cable installed. Holes drilled and new ST60 lined up only to find the self tapping screws from Raymarine are made from chocolate and promptly rounded off. Ray even supply a drill so it was deffinately the right size hole rather than my error for once.

Fourth trip I bottled it due the wind strength and called a rigger. He wanted 150 ($225) and did I have a new topping lift? Yes. Did I have a new spinnaker halyard? yes. Did I replace the spinnaker pulley block at the top of the mast? oh for gods sake

Fifth trip up the mast armed with new self tappers, job done, switched instruments on and prayed. Yippie it works

Pete
__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 07:28   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Anyway is there any advantage to wiring up the ST60s to the Raymarine C80 chart plotter? what extra would it provide us?
How yes. It will give you extra vectors, (yellow for wind) it will show you your "drift" (blue named tide) it will give a magic up to the second information on the way you move and you will be able to take decision wich in the past would have taken a lot of time to calculate. But of course you will have to calibrate your knots meter, your wind direction and together, with your Cog and Sog you will have at your disposition a powerfull and reliable navigation tool and this just for a 9 Watt of power consumption (C 70), peanuts compared to a PC. When I am on the hook I like the radar to mark my neighbors and navigation buoys, like this if I come back in the dark I know where they are even if I cannot see them in the dark.
__________________
chala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 12:12   #7
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 8,562
Images: 14
Chala, sounds like I need to dig the manuals out again and start reading, Thanks

Pete
__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2009, 17:45   #8
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
as Chala said, do it. its usefull and effectively its only the cost of a cable. Note that with standard ST60 instruments you dont get any redundancy as the ST instrument provides the interface, so if the WInd or speed or depth instrument goes then the C series will not display it either as the sensor are not "network" types
__________________
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2009, 23:20   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paraty - Brazil
Boat: OC43 - Nave Rara
Posts: 10
They meant if ST60 LCD DISPLAY goes out, then you can still read it on C70, but as goboating said, if the instrument fails its info will fail as well.
__________________

__________________
negrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chartplotter, raymarine, st60

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine ST60+ Wind Problem meridian@ Marine Electronics 1 26-06-2009 03:04
Raymarine ST60 or ST50 Wind - Wanted dworkman Classifieds Archive 3 07-06-2008 12:19
raymarine c80 Jacana Marine Electronics 9 24-09-2007 17:09
Raymarine C80 Jacana Marine Electronics 1 31-07-2007 16:46



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.